Reviews tagging Panic attacks/disorders

Book of Night, by Holly Black

10 reviews

aseel_reads's review

Go to review page

dark mysterious medium-paced
  • Plot- or character-driven? A mix
  • Strong character development? It's complicated
  • Loveable characters? It's complicated
  • Diverse cast of characters? Yes
  • Flaws of characters a main focus? Yes

3.0

i liked the dark, gritty atmosphere of this book and there were several plot moments that were unpredictable, which was nice. but overall, i just felt that the book didn't make sense and it didn't flow well - jumping too much between recollections of the past and the present. 

Expand filter menu Content Warnings

eepemma's review

Go to review page

adventurous dark mysterious medium-paced
  • Plot- or character-driven? A mix
  • Strong character development? No
  • Loveable characters? Yes
  • Diverse cast of characters? No
  • Flaws of characters a main focus? It's complicated

3.0


Expand filter menu Content Warnings

karapillar's review against another edition

Go to review page

dark mysterious tense slow-paced
  • Plot- or character-driven? A mix
  • Strong character development? No
  • Loveable characters? Yes
  • Diverse cast of characters? Yes
  • Flaws of characters a main focus? Yes

4.75


Expand filter menu Content Warnings

tamara_joy's review

Go to review page

adventurous dark tense fast-paced
  • Plot- or character-driven? A mix
  • Strong character development? Yes
  • Loveable characters? Yes
  • Diverse cast of characters? Yes
  • Flaws of characters a main focus? Yes

4.0


Expand filter menu Content Warnings

looseleafellie's review

Go to review page

dark mysterious medium-paced
  • Plot- or character-driven? Plot
  • Strong character development? It's complicated
  • Flaws of characters a main focus? Yes
Holly Black’s adult fantasy debut follows Charlie Hall, an ex con artist trying to stay out of trouble. But when she witnesses a murder committed by a shadow, she’s thrown back into a world of magic and mayhem. If she can’t find the mysterious Book of Night in time, everyone she loves will be in danger …

This book started off a bit slow for me. Charlie’s backstory was fun to read, but the scenes in the present dragged at first. However, the second half of the book picked up, and the ending was a full-on rollercoaster!

The magic system was cool, even though I didn’t quite understand it. The idea of people being able to do magic using their shadows was really interesting. The story is also set in the area where I go to college, so it was cool seeing familiar places!

Overall, while this story didn’t grip me as much as I hoped, the twists at the end were awesome enough that I’m excited for the sequel! I’m hoping that with the setup done, a second book will be more fast-paced.

Thanks to Tor Books for the advance review copy!

CWs: blood/gore, body horror, self-harm for magic purposes, depression, panic attacks, captivity, child abuse, gun violence, drug use, loss of autonomy, and mentions of incest and cancer.

Expand filter menu Content Warnings

sauvageloup's review

Go to review page

adventurous challenging dark emotional funny mysterious sad tense medium-paced
  • Plot- or character-driven? A mix
  • Strong character development? It's complicated
  • Loveable characters? Yes
  • Diverse cast of characters? No
  • Flaws of characters a main focus? Yes

4.5

SO GOOD! Wish i hadn't tried to rush quite so much because of the event and savored it a bit more but still loved it

pros:
- the magic!!! i haven't read a book (that i remember) with shadow magic in it and i loved the whole thing. the alterationists, quickened shadows, the way the magic became known to the general public through the internet, etc. all of it :D
- Charlie. She's such a mess but she never really means badly by it and I loved how there's the reveal at the end how's she's been holding herself back because she's been afraid of what happens when she really tries. Her nickname of the Charlatan, her past with Rand, her really grey morality but still being loyal and good at heart, as well as her proud sexuality and her relationship with Vince - she doesn't realise how much she likes him and they've kept so many secrets, and yet they're both totally dedicated to the other and i loved that :)
- all the other characters!! Vince was amazing
Spoiler and I didn't guess at all that he was Edmund's shadow, which i should've really, but i'm so glad Charlie wasn't that fussed about it
and i loved Posey, with her determination to be a gloamist. she was a mess too and making some questionable decisions, but she comes through for Charlie and i liked that she got some healing at the end too.
Spoiler - the ending was bittersweet but in kind of a perfect way. I liked the possibility of Vince/Red getting his memory back and that Charlie wasn't gonna quit on him.

- Salt was such a good villain too, and Charlie's horror story past of meeting him first was so well done and creepy, because she was so young and relatively defenseless then, but still managed to keep her wits. she's such a survivor :)
- i definitely felt the similarity between BoN and Ninth House by Leigh Bardugo. There's no dark academia, but the main characters are both 'not on their first mistake, but maybe their last' (as Black put it), a bit older, survivors and smart but jaded and making bad mistakes. there were strong resonances in the magic too, even though it's entirely different, there's the same wild danger of it and not quite knowing how it actually works or how the magic arises/the shadow is quickened. And there was a similar complex, mystery-based plot where both had too many names and was a bit confusing. but i loved both books all the same, and that type of tired-but-fierce female MC who is holding onto life with her teeth is the best :))

cons:
- there's a lot of names. i definitely got lost. Malik and Mahir i muddled up, i forgot who Paul Ecco and Adam and a bunch of the others, as well as small clues like the magnet Charlie found. i did rush through a bit, but it was still pretty complicated
- i did also find that Charlie's chaos kind of spilled into the plot? so i got lost a bit about how much time this was all taking, and the clues/plots/twists and turns felt very haphazard, according to just when the thought showed up in Charlie's mind. it definitely felt organic, but maybe a bit too much so
Spoiler - also i'm not quite sure what was hinted at with Vince and Adelaine? did she have a relationship with Red? or Vince? or did she hurt Red when Vince wasn't there? idk


But overall, adored it and can't wait for book 2 :D

Expand filter menu Content Warnings

mmsavage's review

Go to review page

dark mysterious slow-paced
  • Plot- or character-driven? Plot
  • Strong character development? No
  • Loveable characters? No
  • Diverse cast of characters? No
  • Flaws of characters a main focus? Yes

2.0

Despite owning the whole series, I have not read The Folk of Air books, so this was the first Holly Black book I read. I made that choice consciously because I have heard a lot of people say that if you go into this expecting The Cruel Prince that you will be disappointed--but I hadn't read that! Alas, I was still disappointed. This book comes in at a whopping 304 pages and it was a struggle to get through. The pacing is very slow, I didn't care at all for the main character, and the ending that I've seen so many people talk about was "oh wow" for about five seconds. Nothing about this prompted me to want to keep reading, I just finished out of obligation. Thinking back on other books I have read, I think this is one of the few Urban Fantasy books on my shelf and I do not think the genre is for me. I don't think this makes Black a bad writer by any means, but it's not for everyone. I don't think I will be reading the sequel.

Expand filter menu Content Warnings

howl's review against another edition

Go to review page

3.5

Kind of messy but from about 25% to 75% of the way through it was a quick and intriguing read. The prose and some of the plotting were oddly unpolished which made it seem like the author’s latest editor is less competent than the ones who worked on her recent YA books 

Expand filter menu Content Warnings

ode_to_readers's review against another edition

Go to review page

adventurous dark mysterious tense

4.5

WTF WAS THAT ENDING EXCUSE ME HOLLY BLACK

Okay so the book was a little slow to begin with, the build up and understanding of how shadows worked and the lingo being a struggle. The chapters flick between past and present, Charlie and others. It's both a good thing and a bad thing because the in-between chapters give some more depth but they happen just as there's a cliffhanger on the previous chapter so half the time I'm tempted to skip forward. 

At first I didn't really care for Charlie all that much. I like her now but there's still something I can't quite place my finger on why she bothers me. However, Vince became my favourite about half way through and I loved their relationship with each other. 

Towards the end of the book, the amount of times you think something is about to happen the way you want it to and Holly just snatches that hope right out of your hands. And then does it again and again. 

AND THAT ENDING?!?!?!

Expand filter menu Content Warnings

tualha's review

Go to review page

dark mysterious slow-paced
  • Plot- or character-driven? Plot
  • Diverse cast of characters? No
  • Flaws of characters a main focus? Yes

3.5

For fans of The Ninth House, A Deadly Education, or Robin McKinley's Sunshine (and not necessarily fans of Black's YA titles). 

Holly Black's twisty adult debut follows Charlie Hall, a "reformed" thief and con artist. A slow burn for a mystery, it's got bad romantic decisions, tense family dynamics, and plenty of gory violence. Though it was a bit formulaic in terms of a mystery, folks who enjoy unique systems of magic and female anti-heroes will likely be at home. 

Expand filter menu Content Warnings
More...