Reviews tagging Murder

Murder Most Actual, by Alexis Hall

13 reviews

pipn_t's review

Go to review page

adventurous funny mysterious fast-paced
  • Plot- or character-driven? Plot
  • Strong character development? Yes
  • Loveable characters? Yes
  • Diverse cast of characters? No
  • Flaws of characters a main focus? No

5.0

Very good book, rather funny.  Good mystery, I could not possibly have guessed who had done it, which made it for a good read.  

Expand filter menu Content Warnings

ladyflash's review against another edition

Go to review page

mysterious slow-paced
  • Loveable characters? No
  • Flaws of characters a main focus? Yes

2.25


Expand filter menu Content Warnings

jacemchale's review

Go to review page

adventurous challenging emotional mysterious tense medium-paced
  • Plot- or character-driven? Plot
  • Strong character development? Yes
  • Loveable characters? Yes
  • Diverse cast of characters? Yes
  • Flaws of characters a main focus? Yes

5.0

Engaging as a solvable mystery that readers can play along with, but also a heartwarming tale where life is messy but that doesn't mean it's not worth loving the people in your life.

Expand filter menu Content Warnings

mydearwatsonbooks's review

Go to review page


Expand filter menu Content Warnings

amberinpieces's review against another edition

Go to review page

mysterious fast-paced
  • Plot- or character-driven? Plot
  • Strong character development? N/A
  • Loveable characters? No
  • Diverse cast of characters? Yes
  • Flaws of characters a main focus? It's complicated

2.5


Expand filter menu Content Warnings

whatcassiedid's review

Go to review page

dark emotional funny mysterious tense medium-paced
  • Plot- or character-driven? A mix
  • Strong character development? Yes
  • Loveable characters? Yes
  • Diverse cast of characters? Yes
  • Flaws of characters a main focus? Yes

5.0

I thoroughly enjoyed this! I usually have trouble with thrillers and murder mysteries because they lean too hard into the gore and upsetting parts, but this felt more in the vein of Agatha Christie. Liza and Hanna were sweet lil babies and I had a great time!

Expand filter menu Content Warnings

racheloddment's review

Go to review page

adventurous mysterious fast-paced
  • Plot- or character-driven? Plot
  • Strong character development? It's complicated
  • Loveable characters? Yes
  • Diverse cast of characters? Yes
  • Flaws of characters a main focus? Yes

3.75


Expand filter menu Content Warnings

taratearex's review

Go to review page

funny lighthearted mysterious relaxing medium-paced
  • Plot- or character-driven? Plot
  • Strong character development? Yes
  • Loveable characters? It's complicated
  • Diverse cast of characters? It's complicated
  • Flaws of characters a main focus? No

4.0

This was a cute and fun murder mystery. It takes place in a snowed in hotel where the characters are all stuck and I read it in February in the winter when I feel like there's nothing to do and nowhere to go, so it was an extra cozy read. I liked the play on the Clue murder mystery with over the top characters and farfetched events- yes you'll have to suspend your disbelief a bit, but I don't know how you couldn't given it's a play on the "people are stuck in a house and suddenly start getting murdered". I liked that the lead characters were a lesbian couple and it was cute that the main sleuth is a murder mystery podcaster. Having the main characters be a younger lesbian couple and most of the other characters old "fuddy-duddies" made for some fun banter and nice jabs and sides about politics. I got a bit lost in the tangled web of the mystery, but I just went with it and I like the turn it took, going for a bit of an over the top plot that is grounded in reality somehow worked. Once I got towards the last dozen chapters I really didn't want to put it down. If you like murder mysteries with some comedy, especially if you liked Clue the movie, I would definitely pick this up.

Thank you to NetGalley and the publisher for providing me the e-book in exchange for an honest review. 

Expand filter menu Content Warnings

off2explore's review

Go to review page

adventurous funny mysterious fast-paced
  • Plot- or character-driven? A mix
  • Strong character development? No
  • Loveable characters? Yes
  • Diverse cast of characters? It's complicated
  • Flaws of characters a main focus? No

4.5


Expand filter menu Content Warnings

bimeariver's review

Go to review page

funny mysterious tense medium-paced
  • Plot- or character-driven? A mix
  • Strong character development? It's complicated

4.0


Expand filter menu Content Warnings