Reviews tagging Drug use

The Guncle, by Steven Rowley

6 reviews

spaghettireads's review

Go to review page

I didn't love the way Patrick talked to the kids, and expected them to know adult things. It didn't seem believable that he was that clueless about kids, and the joke seemed very repetitive already 45 pages in. There was also too much talk about body shaming, and ableist comments regarding one of the kid's lisp. Add in a few more jokes that seemed offensive and this didn't seem like something worth continuing.   

Expand filter menu Content Warnings

annabeavo's review

Go to review page

emotional funny hopeful medium-paced
  • Plot- or character-driven? A mix
  • Strong character development? Yes
  • Diverse cast of characters? No

4.25


Expand filter menu Content Warnings

sfbookgirl's review

Go to review page

challenging emotional funny hopeful inspiring lighthearted reflective medium-paced
  • Plot- or character-driven? Character
  • Strong character development? Yes
  • Loveable characters? Yes
  • Diverse cast of characters? Yes
  • Flaws of characters a main focus? Yes

5.0

This book is an absolute delight! I picked up The Guncle at a Little Free Library while walking around Oakland last week and was beside myself that I managed to score the book everyone has been talking about this summer. Gay Uncle Patrick (GUP) is a semi-retired sit-com artist who resides in the very warm, but beautiful Palm Springs. When Patrick’s sister-in-law tragically dies of cancer, Patrick is asked to take care of her children, Maisie and Grant, for a couple of months while Grant’s brother deals with some health issues of his own. 
 
GUP, while unfamiliar with all-things children, easily falls into of a pattern with Maisie and Grant that involves  slathering on sunscreen, answering obscure questions, and taking the two kids to see the sights of the desert. Through this experience, Patrick learns to grapple with his own grief while helping Maisie and Grant understand the grief and loss of their mother. This sweet, touching novel is one I will cherish and is perfect for fans of The House in the Cerulean Sea.

Expand filter menu Content Warnings

taelights's review

Go to review page

emotional funny hopeful medium-paced
  • Plot- or character-driven? Character
  • Strong character development? Yes
  • Loveable characters? Yes
  • Flaws of characters a main focus? Yes

5.0

I loved this book so much. It was such a beautiful story about family and grief that also contained such beautiful and unapologeticly gay representation. 

Patrick was such a great character. Getting to learn more about his past was so interesting. Plus seeing how grief shaped his life and family begun to mend it was such a beautiful story to read. 

Plus both the children (Grant and Maisie) were both such adorable characters and seeing their story after loosing their mother was so sad but heartwarming in places. 

I also adored the side characters in this story a lot. I thought it was especially amazing to see gay polyamorous representation in a book because I've never seen that before. Patrick did start off judgemental about his neighbor's relationship but I thought it was nice to see his perspective begin to change and for him to become closer friends with them. I still wish Patrick ended up with the three of them because that would have been my perfect ending is him moving on from his loss and finding love somewhere he never expected but I am still very happy with the actual ending. 

The only thing I didn't like about the book is how the author choose to write out Grant's lisp whenever he talked. As a reader with dyslexia it made it a bit challenging for me to understand what he was saying at times and I would often have to sit their trying to figure out what the word actually was. I wish the author had just mentioned his lisp a few times rather than actually writing it out nearly every speaking line Grant had. 

Overall this book was a perfect mix of funny, sad, and heartwarming moments. I adored this book and all the characters so much. 

Expand filter menu Content Warnings

wordsmaderight_'s review

Go to review page

emotional funny hopeful reflective sad medium-paced
  • Plot- or character-driven? Character
  • Strong character development? Yes
  • Loveable characters? Yes
  • Diverse cast of characters? Yes
  • Flaws of characters a main focus? Yes

4.25

 
this one's a roller-coaster of emotions. You go from laughing to crying to laughing again. Patrick's relationship with the kids is amazing and beautifully written, as well as the bits about dealing with grief and loss.

the pace was a little bit slow for me and sometimes parts of Patrick's speeches felt a bit forced and took me out of the book, but other than that, it really is a great, great book. I know I'll be thinking about this story for a long time. 

Expand filter menu Content Warnings

kerrygetsliterary's review

Go to review page

emotional funny hopeful lighthearted reflective sad tense fast-paced
  • Plot- or character-driven? A mix
  • Strong character development? Yes
  • Loveable characters? Yes
  • Diverse cast of characters? Yes
  • Flaws of characters a main focus? Yes

5.0


Expand filter menu Content Warnings
More...