Madhouse at the End of the Earth: The Belgica's Journey Into the Dark Antarctic Night by Julian Sancton

Madhouse at the End of the Earth: The Belgica's Journey Into the Dark Antarctic Night

Julian Sancton

nonfiction history adventurous reflective slow-paced

368 pages | first published 2021

Edition information

Description

The harrowing true survival story of an early polar expedition that went terribly awry--with the ship frozen in ice and the crew trapped inside for the entire sunless, Antarctic winter--in the tradition of David Grann, Nathaniel Philbrick, and Ham...
Browse similar books...

Plus

Content Warnings

Submitted by users as part of their reviews

Expand filter menu View summary

See all...

Community Reviews

Summary of 238 reviews

Moods

adventurous 95%
informative 78%
dark 48%
tense 46%
inspiring 26%
challenging 25%
emotional 23%
reflective 22%
sad 18%
mysterious 10%
hopeful 8%
funny 3%

Pace

medium 60%
slow 26%
fast 14%

Average rating

4.12

See all reviews...