American Street by Ibi Zoboi

American Street

Ibi Zoboi

fiction young adult emotional inspiring reflective medium-paced

324 pages | first published 2017

Description

A National Book Award Finalist with five starred reviews and multiple awards American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys.In this stunning debut novel,...
Browse similar books...

Plus

Content Warnings

Submitted by users as part of their reviews

Expand filter menu View summary

See all...

Community Reviews

summary of 1918 ratings (see reviews)

Moods

emotional 92%
sad 47%
reflective 44%
tense 33%
dark 32%
hopeful 27%
challenging 23%
inspiring 18%
mysterious 9%
funny 7%
adventurous 3%
informative 3%
relaxing 1%

Pace

medium 63%
fast 25%
slow 11%

Plot- or character-driven?

A mix: 54% | Character: 35% | Plot: 10%

Strong character development?

Yes: 81% | No: 10% | It's complicated: 8%

Loveable characters?

Yes: 62% | It's complicated: 31% | No: 6%

Diverse cast of characters?

Yes: 94% | No: 3% | It's complicated: 1%

Flaws of characters a main focus?

Yes: 57% | No: 22% | It's complicated: 20%

Average rating

3.93