Book of Night by Holly Black

Book of Night

Book of Night #1

Holly Black

306 pages first pub 2022 (editions)

fiction fantasy dark mysterious tense medium-paced

Description

#1 New York Times bestselling author Holly Black makes her stunning adult debut with Book of Night, a modern dark fantasy of shadowy thieves and secret societies in the vein of Ninth House and The Night CircusIn Charlie Hall’s world, shadows can b...

Read more

Community Reviews Summary of 8,668 reviews

Moods

dark 88%
mysterious 82%
adventurous 52%
tense 45%
emotional 20%
challenging 12%
funny 8%
sad 8%
reflective 3%
hopeful 1%

Pace

medium 60%
slow 27%
fast 12%

Plot- or character-driven?

A mix: 59% | Plot: 25% | Character: 14%

Strong character development?

Yes: 41% | No: 30% | It's complicated: 27%

Loveable characters?

Yes: 46% | It's complicated: 31% | No: 21%

Diverse cast of characters?

No: 50% | Yes: 32% | It's complicated: 12% | N/A: 4%

Flaws of characters a main focus?

Yes: 81% | It's complicated: 11% | No: 6%

Average rating

3.52

See all reviews...

Content Warnings

Submitted by users as part of their reviews

Expand filter menu View summary

See all...