Odessa

Jonathan Hill

fiction young adult
adventurous reflective medium-paced

328 pages | first published 2020

Three siblings search for their missing mother across a ruined America in this original graphic novel perfect for fans of Scott Westerfeld and Neal Shusterman. 

Eight years ago an earthquake—the Big One—hit along the Cascadia fault line, toppling cities and changing landscapes all up and down the west coast of the United States. Life as we know it changed forever. But for Vietnamese-American Virginia Crane, life changed shortly after the earthquake, when her mother left and never came back.

Ginny has gotten used to a life without her mother, helping her father take care of her two younger brothers, Wes and Harry. But when a mysterious package arrives for her eighteenth birthday, her life is shaken up yet again. For the first time, Ginny wants something more than to survive. And it might be a selfish desire, but she's determined to find out what happened to her mother—even if it means leaving her family behind.

What the community thinks

summary of 63 ratings (see reviews)

Content warnings


Expand filter menu View warnings

Moods

adventurous 92%
tense 50%
emotional 42%
dark 21%
mysterious 21%
sad 21%
funny 14%
hopeful 14%
reflective 14%
challenging 7%

Pace

medium 53%
fast 33%
slow 13%

Plot- or character-driven?

Plot: 100%

Strong character development?

No: 46% | Yes: 30% | It's complicated: 23%

Loveable characters?

It's complicated: 38% | No: 30% | Yes: 30%

Diverse cast of characters?

Yes: 61% | No: 23% | It's complicated: 15%

Flaws of characters a main focus?

Yes: 69% | It's complicated: 15% | No: 15%

Average rating

3.1