fiction fantasy young adult adventurous emotional medium-paced

432 pages | first published 2022

Edition information

Description

A young girl with forbidden powers must free her people from oppression in this richly layered epic fantasy from debut author Deborah Falaye, inspired by Yoruba-Nigerian mythology and perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone and An Ember in ...
Browse similar books...

Plus

Book information

Content Warnings

Submitted by users as part of their reviews

Expand filter menu View summary

See all...

Community Reviews

Summary of 368 reviews

Moods

dark 92%
tense 65%
emotional 62%
adventurous 57%
challenging 50%
sad 37%
mysterious 16%
reflective 6%
hopeful 5%
inspiring 4%
informative 3%

Pace

medium 59%
fast 28%
slow 12%

Plot- or character-driven?

A mix: 58% | Character: 20% | Plot: 20%

Strong character development?

Yes: 80% | It's complicated: 11% | No: 7%

Loveable characters?

It's complicated: 51% | Yes: 34% | No: 13%

Diverse cast of characters?

Yes: 89% | It's complicated: 4% | N/A: 3% | No: 3%

Flaws of characters a main focus?

Yes: 57% | It's complicated: 23% | No: 16% | N/A: 1%

Average rating

4.06

See all reviews...