How the One-Armed Sister Sweeps Her House by Cherie Jones

How the One-Armed Sister Sweeps Her House

Cherie Jones

fiction literary dark emotional medium-paced

278 pages | first published 2021

Description

In the tradition of Zadie Smith and Marlon James, this debut novel set in Barbados from a brilliant Caribbean writer depicts four people each desperate to escape their legacy of violence in a so-called "paradise". In Baxter Beach, Barbados, moneye...
Browse similar books...

Plus

Community Reviews

summary of 227 ratings (see reviews)

Content warnings

Expand filter menu View

Moods

dark 92%
emotional 68%
sad 64%
tense 62%
challenging 44%
mysterious 15%
reflective 15%
adventurous 4%
hopeful 3%
funny 1%
informative 1%

Pace

medium 69%
fast 17%
slow 13%

Plot- or character-driven?

A mix: 62% | Character: 35% | Plot: 2%

Strong character development?

Yes: 51% | It's complicated: 31% | No: 15% | N/A: 0%

Loveable characters?

It's complicated: 60% | No: 32% | Yes: 7%

Diverse cast of characters?

Yes: 89% | It's complicated: 4% | No: 3% | N/A: 1%

Flaws of characters a main focus?

Yes: 83% | It's complicated: 15% | No: 1%

Average rating

3.88