How the One-Armed Sister Sweeps Her House by Cherie Jones

How the One-Armed Sister Sweeps Her House

Cherie Jones

fiction literary dark emotional medium-paced

278 pages | first published 2021

Description

In the tradition of Zadie Smith and Marlon James, this debut novel set in Barbados from a brilliant Caribbean writer depicts four people each desperate to escape their legacy of violence in a so-called "paradise". In Baxter Beach, Barbados, moneye...
Browse similar books...

Plus

Content Warnings

Submitted by users as part of their reviews

Expand filter menu View summary

See all...

Community Reviews

summary of 630 ratings (see reviews)

Moods

dark 89%
emotional 71%
sad 66%
tense 57%
challenging 45%
reflective 17%
mysterious 12%
adventurous 4%
hopeful 2%
funny 0%
informative 0%

Pace

medium 68%
slow 19%
fast 12%

Plot- or character-driven?

A mix: 56% | Character: 37% | Plot: 5%

Strong character development?

Yes: 47% | It's complicated: 33% | No: 19% | N/A: 0%

Loveable characters?

It's complicated: 64% | No: 28% | Yes: 7%

Diverse cast of characters?

Yes: 90% | It's complicated: 4% | No: 4% | N/A: 1%

Flaws of characters a main focus?

Yes: 83% | It's complicated: 13% | No: 2% | N/A: 0%

Average rating

3.74