Pachinko by Min Jin Lee

Pachinko

Min Jin Lee with Allison Hiroto (Narrator)

18 hours, 16 minutes first pub 2017 (editions)

fiction historical literary emotional reflective sad medium-paced
Powered by AI (Beta)
Loading...

Description

A new tour de force from the bestselling author of Free Food for Millionaires, for readers of A Fine Balance and Cutting for Stone. Profoundly moving and gracefully told, PACHINKO follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in ear...

Read more

Community Reviews Summary of 52,127 reviews

Moods

emotional 88%
reflective 70%
sad 68%
informative 37%
challenging 28%
inspiring 24%
hopeful 23%
dark 20%
tense 13%
adventurous 12%
funny 1%
mysterious 1%
relaxing 1%

Pace

medium 56%
slow 35%
fast 7%

Plot- or character-driven?

Character: 59% | A mix: 34% | Plot: 6%

Strong character development?

Yes: 77% | It's complicated: 17% | No: 4%

Loveable characters?

Yes: 69% | It's complicated: 26% | No: 3%

Diverse cast of characters?

Yes: 78% | It's complicated: 9% | No: 8% | N/A: 3%

Flaws of characters a main focus?

Yes: 58% | It's complicated: 25% | No: 14% | N/A: 1%

Average rating

4.36

See all reviews...

Content Warnings

Submitted by users as part of their reviews

Expand filter menu View summary

See all...