Pachinko by Min Jin Lee

Pachinko

Min Jin Lee with Allison Hiroto (Narrator)

fiction historical literary emotional reflective sad slow-paced

missing page info | first published 2017

Edition information

Description

A new tour de force from the bestselling author of Free Food for Millionaires, for readers of A Fine Balance and Cutting for Stone. Profoundly moving and gracefully told, PACHINKO follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in ear...
Browse similar books...

Plus

Content Warnings

Submitted by users as part of their reviews

Expand filter menu View summary

See all...

Community Reviews

Summary of 21931 reviews

Moods

emotional 88%
reflective 72%
sad 68%
informative 38%
challenging 27%
hopeful 23%
inspiring 23%
dark 18%
tense 13%
adventurous 10%
funny 1%
mysterious 1%
relaxing 1%

Pace

medium 50%
slow 42%
fast 7%

Plot- or character-driven?

Character: 60% | A mix: 33% | Plot: 6%

Strong character development?

Yes: 78% | It's complicated: 16% | No: 4%

Loveable characters?

Yes: 68% | It's complicated: 27% | No: 3%

Diverse cast of characters?

Yes: 78% | It's complicated: 9% | No: 8% | N/A: 3%

Flaws of characters a main focus?

Yes: 58% | It's complicated: 25% | No: 13% | N/A: 1%

Average rating

4.36

See all reviews...