The Love Curse of Melody McIntyre

Robin Talley

fiction contemporary lgbtqia+ young adult
lighthearted slow-paced

464 pages | first published 2020

New York Times bestselling author Robin Talley returns with this sweet, queer rom-com about a high school musical’s stage manager and lead actress, perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli and Nina LaCour.

Melody McIntyre, stage manager extraordinaire, has a plan for everything. Lead actor need a breath mint? She’s on it. Understudy bust a seam? Mel’s sewing kit is at the ready. Not only is her Plan A foolproof, she’s got a Plan B, and a Plan C, because actors can be total fools.

What she doesn’t have? Success with love. Every time she falls for someone during a school performance, both the romance and the show end in catastrophe. So, Mel swears off any entanglements until their upcoming production of Les Mis is over.

Of course, Mel didn’t count on Odile Rose, rising star in the acting world, auditioning for the spring performance. And she definitely didn’t expect Odile to be sweet and funny, and care as much about the play’s success as Mel.

Which means that Melody McIntyre’s only plan now is trying desperately not to fall in love.

This earnest and hilarious #ownvoices romantic comedy from New York Times bestselling author Robin Talley features secret rendezvous, deadly stage props, and a wealth of pining from afar; there’s something for everyone in this charming, compulsively likable LGBTQ love story.

What the community thinks

summary of 109 ratings (see reviews)

Content warnings


Expand filter menu View warnings

Moods

lighthearted 89%
funny 61%
emotional 31%
hopeful 29%
inspiring 12%
relaxing 10%
reflective 6%
tense 6%
adventurous 4%
mysterious 4%

Pace

medium 63%
slow 20%
fast 16%

Plot- or character-driven?

A mix: 50% | Character: 50%

Strong character development?

Yes: 58% | No: 20% | It's complicated: 16% | N/A: 4%

Loveable characters?

Yes: 63% | It's complicated: 20% | No: 15%

Diverse cast of characters?

Yes: 84% | It's complicated: 8% | No: 4% | N/A: 2%

Flaws of characters a main focus?

Yes: 85% | It's complicated: 7% | No: 7%

Average rating

3.83