Promising Young Women by Caroline O'Donoghue

Promising Young Women

Caroline O'Donoghue

fiction contemporary dark funny reflective medium-paced

352 pages | first published 2018

Description

For readers of THE COWS, SWEETBITTER or CONVERSATIONS WITH FRIENDS - as well as for fans of FLEABAG or SEARCH PARTY - Caroline O'Donoghue's debut is a gothic, darkly witty novel about sex, power, work and being a young woman in a man's world."I do...
Browse similar books...

Plus

Content Warnings

Submitted by users as part of their reviews

Expand filter menu View summary

See all...

Community Reviews

summary of 367 ratings (see reviews)

Moods

dark 85%
emotional 63%
reflective 36%
funny 34%
tense 30%
challenging 24%
mysterious 22%
sad 18%
hopeful 6%
lighthearted 6%
adventurous 4%
inspiring 4%

Pace

fast 47%
medium 43%
slow 8%

Plot- or character-driven?

Character: 79% | A mix: 16% | Plot: 4%

Strong character development?

Yes: 73% | It's complicated: 20% | No: 6%

Loveable characters?

It's complicated: 52% | No: 26% | Yes: 21%

Diverse cast of characters?

No: 51% | Yes: 31% | It's complicated: 13% | N/A: 4%

Flaws of characters a main focus?

Yes: 97% | It's complicated: 2%

Average rating

3.89