Promising Young Women by Caroline O'Donoghue

Promising Young Women

Caroline O'Donoghue

fiction contemporary dark emotional medium-paced

352 pages | first published 2018

Edition information

Description

For readers of THE COWS, SWEETBITTER or CONVERSATIONS WITH FRIENDS - as well as for fans of FLEABAG or SEARCH PARTY - Caroline O'Donoghue's debut is a gothic, darkly witty novel about sex, power, work and being a young woman in a man's world."I do...
Browse similar books...

Plus

Book information

Content Warnings

Submitted by users as part of their reviews

Expand filter menu View summary

See all...

Community Reviews

Summary of 681 reviews

Moods

dark 78%
emotional 65%
funny 36%
tense 36%
reflective 34%
sad 29%
challenging 23%
mysterious 18%
hopeful 7%
inspiring 5%
lighthearted 3%
adventurous 1%

Pace

medium 57%
fast 33%
slow 8%

Plot- or character-driven?

Character: 66% | A mix: 28% | Plot: 4%

Strong character development?

Yes: 76% | It's complicated: 17% | No: 6%

Loveable characters?

It's complicated: 51% | Yes: 25% | No: 23%

Diverse cast of characters?

No: 53% | Yes: 29% | It's complicated: 13% | N/A: 3%

Flaws of characters a main focus?

Yes: 92% | It's complicated: 6%

Average rating

3.83

See all reviews...