Obie Is Man Enough by Schuyler Bailar

Obie Is Man Enough

Schuyler Bailar

fiction lgbtqia+ middle grade sports challenging emotional reflective medium-paced

352 pages | first published 2021

Description

A coming-of-age story about transgender tween Obie, who didn’t think being himself would cause such a splash. For fans of Alex Gino’s George and Lisa Bunker’s Felix Yz. Obie knew his transition would have ripple effects. He has to leave his swi...
Browse similar books...

Plus

Content Warnings

Submitted by users as part of their reviews

Expand filter menu View summary

See all...

Community Reviews

summary of 23 ratings (see reviews)

Moods

emotional 90%
hopeful 81%
inspiring 72%
challenging 36%
reflective 36%
funny 27%
informative 18%
tense 18%
adventurous 9%
dark 9%
lighthearted 9%

Pace

medium 63%
fast 36%

Plot- or character-driven?

Character: 72% | A mix: 27%

Strong character development?

Yes: 81% | It's complicated: 18%

Loveable characters?

Yes: 100%

Diverse cast of characters?

Yes: 100%

Flaws of characters a main focus?

No: 45% | Yes: 36% | It's complicated: 18%

Average rating

4.29