Like Water for Chocolate by Laura Esquivel

Like Water for Chocolate

Como agua para chocolate #1

Laura Esquivel with Thomas Christensen (Translator), Carol Christensen (Translator)

fiction historical magical realism romance emotional lighthearted medium-paced

222 pages | first published 1989

Edition information

Description

The intoxicating international bestseller about love, cooking and magic. Perfect for fans of Joanne Harris and Isabel Allende.Like Water For Chocolate tells the captivating story of the De la Garza family. As the youngest daughter, Tita is forbidd...
Browse similar books...

Plus

Book information

Content Warnings

Submitted by users as part of their reviews

Expand filter menu View summary

See all...

Community Reviews

Summary of 8426 reviews

Moods

emotional 79%
sad 33%
lighthearted 30%
reflective 30%
funny 23%
mysterious 21%
hopeful 19%
adventurous 16%
tense 11%
dark 10%
inspiring 9%
challenging 7%
relaxing 7%
informative 5%

Pace

medium 50%
fast 38%
slow 10%

Plot- or character-driven?

Character: 51% | A mix: 35% | Plot: 12%

Strong character development?

Yes: 48% | It's complicated: 28% | No: 21% | N/A: 1%

Loveable characters?

Yes: 45% | It's complicated: 36% | No: 16% | N/A: 1%

Diverse cast of characters?

Yes: 57% | No: 26% | It's complicated: 11% | N/A: 5%

Flaws of characters a main focus?

Yes: 58% | No: 23% | It's complicated: 14% | N/A: 3%

Average rating

3.72

See all reviews...