Like Water for Chocolate by Laura Esquivel

Like Water for Chocolate

Como agua para chocolate #1

Laura Esquivel with Thomas Christensen (Translator), Carol Christensen (Translator)

222 pages first pub 1989 (editions)

fiction historical magical realism romance emotional lighthearted medium-paced
Powered by AI (Beta)
Loading...

Description

The intoxicating international bestseller about love, cooking and magic. Perfect for fans of Joanne Harris and Isabel Allende.Like Water For Chocolate tells the captivating story of the De la Garza family. As the youngest daughter, Tita is forbidd...

Read more

Community Reviews Summary of 15,601 reviews

Moods

emotional 76%
sad 33%
reflective 30%
lighthearted 29%
funny 28%
hopeful 20%
mysterious 20%
adventurous 16%
dark 11%
inspiring 11%
tense 11%
challenging 7%
relaxing 6%
informative 4%

Pace

medium 46%
fast 44%
slow 8%

Plot- or character-driven?

Character: 52% | A mix: 34% | Plot: 12%

Strong character development?

Yes: 50% | It's complicated: 26% | No: 21% | N/A: 1%

Loveable characters?

Yes: 46% | It's complicated: 33% | No: 19%

Diverse cast of characters?

Yes: 59% | No: 25% | It's complicated: 10% | N/A: 4%

Flaws of characters a main focus?

Yes: 56% | No: 22% | It's complicated: 18% | N/A: 2%

Average rating

3.74

See all reviews...

Content Warnings

Submitted by users as part of their reviews

Expand filter menu View summary

See all...