Firekeeper's Daughter

Angeline Boulley

fiction contemporary mystery thriller young adult
dark emotional mysterious medium-paced

496 pages | first published 2021

In Firekeeper's Daughter, debut author Angeline Boulley crafts a groundbreaking YA thriller about a Native teen who must root out the corruption in her community, for readers of Angie Thomas and Tommy Orange.

As a biracial, unenrolled tribal member and the product of a scandal, eighteen-year-old Daunis Fontaine has never quite fit in, both in her hometown and on the nearby Ojibwe reservation. Daunis dreams of studying medicine, but when her family is struck by tragedy, she puts her future on hold to care for her fragile mother.

The only bright spot is meeting Jamie, the charming new recruit on her brother Levi's hockey team. Yet even as Daunis falls for Jamie, certain details don't add up and she senses the dashing hockey star is hiding something. Everything comes to light when Daunis witnesses a shocking murder, thrusting her into the heart of a criminal investigation.

Reluctantly, Daunis agrees to go undercover, but secretly pursues her own investigation, tracking down the criminals with her knowledge of chemistry and Ojibwe traditional medicine. But the deceptions--and deaths--keep piling up and soon the threat strikes too close to home.

Now, Daunis must learn what it means to be a strong Anishinaabe kwe (Ojibwe woman) and how far she'll go to protect her community, even if it tears apart the only world she's ever known.

What the community thinks

summary of 40 ratings (see reviews)

Content warnings


Expand filter menu View warnings

Moods

mysterious 79%
emotional 75%
challenging 66%
tense 62%
dark 58%
reflective 41%
informative 37%
inspiring 37%
sad 37%
adventurous 33%
hopeful 25%
funny 8%

Pace

medium 80%
slow 15%
fast 3%

Plot- or character-driven?

A mix: 76% | Plot: 14% | Character: 9%

Strong character development?

Yes: 95% | It's complicated: 4%

Loveable characters?

Yes: 63% | It's complicated: 31% | No: 4%

Diverse cast of characters?

Yes: 100%

Flaws of characters a main focus?

It's complicated: 52% | Yes: 42% | No: 4%

Average rating

4.56