The Revolution of Birdie Randolph

Brandy Colbert

fiction contemporary young adult
emotional lighthearted reflective medium-paced

336 pages | first published 2019

Perfect for fans of Nina LaCour and Nicola Yoon comes a novel about first love and family secrets from Stonewall Book Award winner Brandy Colbert.

Dove "Birdie" Randolph works hard to be the perfect daughter and follow the path her parents have laid out for her: She quit playing her beloved soccer, she keeps her nose buried in textbooks, and she's on track to finish high school at the top of her class. But then Birdie falls hard for Booker, a sweet boy with a troubled past...whom she knows her parents will never approve of.

When her estranged aunt Carlene returns to Chicago and moves into the family's apartment above their hair salon, Birdie notices the tension building at home. Carlene is sweet, friendly, and open-minded--she's also spent decades in and out of treatment facilities for addiction. As Birdie becomes closer to both Booker and Carlene, she yearns to spread her wings. But when long-buried secrets rise to the surface, everything she's known to be true is turned upside down.

What the community thinks

summary of 138 ratings (see reviews)

Content warnings


Expand filter menu View warnings

Moods

emotional 87%
inspiring 50%
lighthearted 37%
hopeful 25%
reflective 25%
adventurous 12%
funny 12%
mysterious 12%
relaxing 12%

Pace

medium 88%
fast 11%

Strong character development?

Yes: 83% | It's complicated: 16%

Loveable characters?

Yes: 87% | It's complicated: 12%

Diverse cast of characters?

Yes: 100%

Flaws of characters centre-stage?

Yes: 83% | It's complicated: 16%

Average rating

3.97