Pride and Premeditation

Jane Austen Murder Mystery #1

Tirzah Price

fiction mystery young adult
mysterious medium-paced

304 pages | first published 2021

Three of Jane Austen’s classic novels receive a murder mystery makeover in this romantic and thrilling three book series that’s perfect for fans of The Lady’s Guide to Petticoats and Piracy and Stalking Jack the Ripper. In Pride & Premeditation, aspiring lawyer Lizzie Bennet attempts to solve a murder case while fighting off feelings for her rival Mr. Darcy.

It is a truth universally acknowledged that a young woman who desires a law career must be in want of a case. So when sixteen year old Lizzie Bennet hears about a scandalous society murder, she sees an opportunity to prove herself as a solicitor by solving the case and ensuring justice is served.

Except the man accused of the crime already has a lawyer on his side: Mr. Fitzwilliam Darcy, the stern young heir to the prestigious Pemberley Associates law firm. Lizzie is determined to solve the murder before Darcy can so that she can show the world that a woman can be just as good as a man. (The fact that Darcy is an infuriating snob doesn’t help.) But there’s still a killer on the loose, and as the case gets more complicated, Lizzie and Darcy may have to start working together to avoid becoming the next victims themselves.

Agatha Christie meets Jane Austen with a feminist twist in this smart, romantic, and thrilling novel from debut author Tirzah Price.

What the community thinks

summary of 33 ratings (see reviews)

Content warnings


Expand filter menu View warnings

Moods

mysterious 88%
lighthearted 77%
adventurous 66%
funny 55%
inspiring 33%
tense 11%

Pace

medium 50%
slow 30%
fast 20%

Plot- or character-driven?

A mix: 50% | Character: 50%

Strong character development?

Yes: 75% | No: 25%

Loveable characters?

Yes: 75% | It's complicated: 25%

Diverse cast of characters?

It's complicated: 42% | Yes: 28% | N/A: 14% | No: 14%

Flaws of characters a main focus?

Yes: 71% | N/A: 14% | No: 14%

Average rating

3.77