The Wife Upstairs by Rachel Hawkins

The Wife Upstairs

Rachel Hawkins

fiction thriller dark mysterious tense fast-paced

304 pages | first published 2021

Description

A delicious twist on a Gothic classic, The Wife Upstairs pairs Southern charm with atmospheric domestic suspense, perfect for fans of B.A. Paris and Megan Miranda.Meet Jane. Newly arrived to Birmingham, Alabama, Jane is a broke dog-walker in Thorn...
Browse similar books...

Plus

Content Warnings

Submitted by users as part of their reviews

Expand filter menu View summary

See all...

Community Reviews

summary of 4114 ratings (see reviews)

Moods

mysterious 92%
dark 61%
tense 52%
adventurous 7%
emotional 6%
funny 3%
sad 3%
challenging 2%
lighthearted 2%

Pace

fast 56%
medium 39%
slow 4%

Plot- or character-driven?

Plot: 43% | A mix: 38% | Character: 17%

Strong character development?

No: 49% | It's complicated: 25% | Yes: 23% | N/A: 1%

Loveable characters?

No: 72% | It's complicated: 22% | Yes: 4%

Diverse cast of characters?

No: 92% | It's complicated: 3% | Yes: 2% | N/A: 1%

Flaws of characters a main focus?

Yes: 84% | It's complicated: 8% | No: 5%

Average rating

3.58