The Kingdom of Back by Marie Lu

The Kingdom of Back

Marie Lu

fiction fantasy historical young adult adventurous slow-paced

336 pages | first published 2020

Description

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Marie Lu comes a historical YA fantasy about a musical prodigy and the dangerous lengths she'll go to make history remember her—perfect for fans of Susanna Clarke and The Hazel Wood.Two siblings. Two brill...
Browse similar books...

Plus

Community Reviews

summary of 1003 ratings (see reviews)

Content warnings

Expand filter menu View

Moods

adventurous 65%
emotional 56%
mysterious 52%
dark 28%
inspiring 27%
reflective 21%
sad 19%
hopeful 18%
tense 16%
challenging 9%
informative 9%
lighthearted 9%
relaxing 3%
funny 1%

Pace

medium 53%
slow 37%
fast 8%

Plot- or character-driven?

Character: 62% | A mix: 32% | Plot: 5%

Strong character development?

Yes: 79% | It's complicated: 17% | No: 3%

Loveable characters?

Yes: 61% | It's complicated: 25% | No: 12% | N/A: 1%

Diverse cast of characters?

No: 81% | It's complicated: 8% | N/A: 5% | Yes: 4%

Flaws of characters a main focus?

Yes: 78% | It's complicated: 10% | No: 9% | N/A: 1%

Average rating

3.74