The Kingdom of Back by Marie Lu

The Kingdom of Back

Marie Lu

fiction fantasy historical young adult adventurous slow-paced

336 pages | first published 2020

Description

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Marie Lu comes a historical YA fantasy about a musical prodigy and the dangerous lengths she'll go to make history remember her—perfect for fans of Susanna Clarke and The Hazel Wood.Two siblings. Two brill...
Browse similar books...

Plus

Content Warnings

Submitted by users as part of their reviews

Expand filter menu View summary

See all...

Community Reviews

summary of 2242 ratings (see reviews)

Moods

adventurous 69%
emotional 56%
mysterious 50%
dark 32%
inspiring 25%
reflective 24%
sad 23%
hopeful 17%
tense 15%
challenging 10%
lighthearted 10%
informative 8%
relaxing 3%
funny 2%

Pace

medium 53%
slow 38%
fast 8%

Plot- or character-driven?

Character: 55% | A mix: 35% | Plot: 9%

Strong character development?

Yes: 81% | It's complicated: 12% | No: 5%

Loveable characters?

Yes: 69% | It's complicated: 19% | No: 10% | N/A: 1%

Diverse cast of characters?

No: 81% | It's complicated: 8% | N/A: 5% | Yes: 4%

Flaws of characters a main focus?

Yes: 73% | It's complicated: 12% | No: 12% | N/A: 1%

Average rating

3.73