The Wolf and the Woodsman by Ava Reid

The Wolf and the Woodsman

Ava Reid

fiction fantasy historical adventurous dark emotional medium-paced

418 pages | first published 2021

Description

A dark, evocative and unforgettable fantasy debut steeped in Hungarian history and Jewish mythology, perfect for fans of Naomi Novik and Katherine Arden.Stories don't have to be true to be real...In her forest-veiled pagan village, Évike is the on...
Browse similar books...

Plus

Content Warnings

Submitted by users as part of their reviews

Expand filter menu View summary

See all...

Community Reviews

summary of 712 ratings (see reviews)

Moods

adventurous 89%
dark 81%
tense 50%
emotional 35%
mysterious 24%
reflective 18%
challenging 17%
sad 12%
hopeful 11%
inspiring 6%
funny 3%
informative 3%
relaxing 0%

Pace

medium 62%
slow 27%
fast 10%

Plot- or character-driven?

A mix: 62% | Character: 20% | Plot: 17% | N/A: 0%

Strong character development?

Yes: 78% | It's complicated: 13% | No: 7% | N/A: 0%

Loveable characters?

Yes: 47% | It's complicated: 33% | No: 18% | N/A: 0%

Diverse cast of characters?

Yes: 59% | It's complicated: 19% | No: 16% | N/A: 4%

Flaws of characters a main focus?

Yes: 74% | It's complicated: 14% | No: 9% | N/A: 1%

Average rating

3.85