Persephone Station

Stina Leicht

fiction science science fiction
adventurous challenging medium-paced

512 pages

Hugo award-nominated author Stina Leicht has created a take on space opera for fans of The Mandalorian and Cowboy Bebop in this high-stakes adventure.

Persephone Station, a seemingly backwater planet that has largely been ignored by the United Republic of Worlds becomes the focus for the Serrao-Orlov Corporation as the planet has a few secrets the corporation tenaciously wants to exploit.

Rosie--owner of Monk's Bar, in the corporate town of West Brynner, caters to wannabe criminals and rich Earther tourists, of a sort, at the front bar. However, exactly two types of people drank at Monk's back bar: members of a rather exclusive criminal class and those who sought to employ them.

Angel--ex-marine and head of a semi-organized band of beneficent criminals, wayward assassins, and washed up mercenaries with a penchant for doing the honorable thing is asked to perform a job for Rosie. What this job reveals will effect Persephone and put Angel and her squad up against an army. Despite the odds, they are rearing for a fight with the Serrao-Orlov Corporation. For Angel, she knows that once honor is lost, there is no regaining it. That doesn't mean she can't damned well try.

What the community thinks

summary of 35 ratings (see reviews)

Content warnings


Expand filter menu View warnings

Moods

adventurous 95%
tense 42%
funny 28%
dark 23%
emotional 23%
mysterious 19%
challenging 14%
lighthearted 9%
inspiring 4%
relaxing 4%
sad 4%

Pace

medium 85%
slow 9%
fast 4%

Plot- or character-driven?

Plot: 100%

Strong character development?

Yes: 38% | It's complicated: 27% | No: 27% | N/A: 5%

Loveable characters?

Yes: 58% | It's complicated: 29% | No: 11%

Diverse cast of characters?

Yes: 100%

Flaws of characters a main focus?

Yes: 52% | It's complicated: 23% | No: 17% | N/A: 5%

Average rating

3.75