Loveboat, Taipei

Loveboat, Taipei #1

Abigail Hing Wen

fiction contemporary romance young adult
adventurous slow-paced

432 pages | first published 2020

For fans of Crazy Rich Asians or Jane Austen Comedy of Manners, with a hint of La La Land

When eighteen-year-old Ever Wong’s parents send her from Ohio to Taiwan to study Mandarin for the summer, she finds herself thrust among the very over-achieving kids her parents have always wanted her to be, including Rick Woo, the Yale-bound prodigy profiled in the Chinese newspapers since they were nine—and her parents’ yardstick for her never-measuring-up life.

Unbeknownst to her parents, however, the program is actually an infamous teen meet-market nicknamed Loveboat, where the kids are more into clubbing than calligraphy and drinking snake-blood sake than touring sacred shrines.

Free for the first time, Ever sets out to break all her parents’ uber-strict rules—but how far can she go before she breaks her own heart?

What the community thinks

summary of 903 ratings (see reviews)

Content warnings


Expand filter menu View warnings

Moods

emotional 69%
lighthearted 54%
adventurous 50%
reflective 44%
hopeful 42%
inspiring 32%
funny 28%
relaxing 10%
challenging 6%
tense 5%
dark 3%
sad 3%
informative 1%
mysterious 1%

Pace

medium 66%
fast 26%
slow 6%

Plot- or character-driven?

Character: 50% | A mix: 40% | Plot: 10%

Strong character development?

Yes: 85% | It's complicated: 10% | No: 5%

Loveable characters?

Yes: 55% | It's complicated: 23% | No: 21%

Diverse cast of characters?

Yes: 87% | It's complicated: 12%

Flaws of characters a main focus?

Yes: 83% | It's complicated: 8% | No: 5% | N/A: 1%

Average rating

3.63