Unorthodox: The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots by Deborah Feldman

Unorthodox: The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots

Deborah Feldman

nonfiction memoir religion emotional reflective medium-paced

272 pages | first published 2012

Description

The instant New York Times bestselling memoir of a young Jewish woman’s escape from a religious sect, in the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Ali’s Infidel and Carolyn Jessop’s Escape, featuring a new epilogue by the author.As a member of the strictly rel...
Browse similar books...

Plus

Content Warnings

Submitted by users as part of their reviews

Expand filter menu View summary

See all...

Community Reviews

summary of 2215 ratings (see reviews)

Moods

emotional 69%
reflective 66%
informative 64%
inspiring 46%
hopeful 31%
challenging 24%
sad 23%
dark 19%
tense 11%
adventurous 2%
funny 1%
mysterious 1%

Pace

medium 68%
slow 16%
fast 15%

Average rating

3.92