Punching the Air by Yusef Salaam, Ibi Zoboi

Punching the Air

Yusef Salaam, Ibi Zoboi

fiction crime young adult challenging emotional reflective medium-paced

396 pages | first published 2020

Edition information

Description

Instant New York Times bestseller From award-winning author Ibi Zoboi and prison reform activist Yusef Salaam of the Exonerated Five comes a powerful YA novel in verse about a boy who is wrongfully incarcerated. Perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds...
Browse similar books...

Plus

Content Warnings

Submitted by users as part of their reviews

Expand filter menu View summary

See all...

Community Reviews

Summary of 3367 reviews

Moods

emotional 85%
reflective 62%
challenging 54%
sad 43%
inspiring 42%
hopeful 39%
dark 29%
informative 23%
tense 21%
adventurous 1%

Pace

fast 52%
medium 40%
slow 6%

Plot- or character-driven?

Character: 74% | A mix: 20% | Plot: 4%

Strong character development?

Yes: 75% | It's complicated: 17% | No: 3% | N/A: 2%

Loveable characters?

Yes: 76% | It's complicated: 19% | N/A: 2% | No: 1%

Diverse cast of characters?

Yes: 90% | It's complicated: 5% | No: 2% | N/A: 1%

Flaws of characters a main focus?

Yes: 58% | It's complicated: 29% | No: 10% | N/A: 1%

Average rating

4.52

See all reviews...