Punching the Air by Yusef Salaam, Ibi Zoboi

Punching the Air

Yusef Salaam, Ibi Zoboi

fiction crime young adult challenging emotional reflective medium-paced

400 pages | first published 2020

Description

Instant New York Times bestseller From award-winning author Ibi Zoboi and prison reform activist Yusef Salaam of the Exonerated Five comes a powerful YA novel in verse about a boy who is wrongfully incarcerated. Perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds...
Browse similar books...

Plus

Content Warnings

Submitted by users as part of their reviews

Expand filter menu View summary

See all...

Community Reviews

summary of 1094 ratings (see reviews)

Moods

emotional 86%
reflective 61%
challenging 58%
sad 46%
hopeful 42%
inspiring 42%
dark 31%
informative 23%
tense 22%
adventurous 0%
funny 0%
mysterious 0%
relaxing 0%

Pace

fast 49%
medium 44%
slow 6%

Plot- or character-driven?

Character: 77% | A mix: 18% | Plot: 2% | N/A: 0%

Strong character development?

Yes: 76% | It's complicated: 17% | N/A: 3% | No: 3%

Loveable characters?

Yes: 73% | It's complicated: 22% | N/A: 2% | No: 1%

Diverse cast of characters?

Yes: 91% | It's complicated: 5% | N/A: 1% | No: 1%

Flaws of characters a main focus?

Yes: 61% | It's complicated: 27% | No: 8% | N/A: 2%

Average rating

4.55