The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo

The Poet X

Elizabeth Acevedo

fiction contemporary poetry young adult emotional fast-paced

368 pages | first published 2018

Description

Winner of the National Book Award for Young People's Literature, the Michael L. Printz Award, and the Pura Belpr Award Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing New York Times-bestselling novel...
Browse similar books...

Plus

Content Warnings

Submitted by users as part of their reviews

Expand filter menu View summary

See all...

Community Reviews

summary of 13640 ratings (see reviews)

Moods

emotional 92%
inspiring 65%
reflective 58%
hopeful 47%
challenging 19%
sad 18%
tense 14%
funny 9%
dark 6%
informative 3%
lighthearted 3%
adventurous 2%
relaxing 1%
mysterious 0%

Pace

fast 68%
medium 29%
slow 1%

Plot- or character-driven?

Character: 82% | A mix: 15% | Plot: 1% | N/A: 0%

Strong character development?

Yes: 93% | It's complicated: 4% | N/A: 0% | No: 0%

Loveable characters?

Yes: 83% | It's complicated: 14% | No: 1% | N/A: 0%

Diverse cast of characters?

Yes: 97% | It's complicated: 1% | No: 1% | N/A: 0%

Flaws of characters a main focus?

Yes: 67% | It's complicated: 20% | No: 10% | N/A: 2%

Average rating

4.45