The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo

The Poet X

Elizabeth Acevedo

fiction contemporary poetry young adult emotional fast-paced

368 pages | first published 2018

Description

Winner of the National Book Award for Young People's Literature, the Michael L. Printz Award, and the Pura Belpr Award Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing New York Times-bestselling novel...

Community Reviews

summary of 7267 ratings (see reviews)

Content warnings

Expand filter menu View

Moods

emotional 93%
inspiring 65%
reflective 58%
hopeful 49%
challenging 19%
sad 18%
tense 13%
funny 8%
dark 5%
lighthearted 3%
informative 2%
adventurous 1%
relaxing 1%
mysterious 0%

Pace

fast 64%
medium 33%
slow 1%

Plot- or character-driven?

Character: 83% | A mix: 13% | Plot: 2% | N/A: 0%

Strong character development?

Yes: 94% | It's complicated: 4% | No: 1% | N/A: 0%

Loveable characters?

Yes: 83% | It's complicated: 13% | N/A: 1% | No: 1%

Diverse cast of characters?

Yes: 97% | It's complicated: 0% | N/A: 0% | No: 0%

Flaws of characters a main focus?

Yes: 72% | It's complicated: 16% | No: 8% | N/A: 2%

Average rating

4.47