The Sound of Stars

Alechia Dow

fiction fantasy science fiction young adult
adventurous emotional medium-paced

432 pages | first published 2020

Can a girl who risks her life for books and an alien who loves pop music work together to save humanity? A beautiful and thrilling debut novel for fans of Marie Lu and Veronica Roth.

Two years ago, a misunderstanding between the leaders of Earth and the invading Ilori resulted in the deaths of one-third of the world's population.

Today, seventeen-year-old Ellie Baker survives in an Ilori-controlled center in New York City. With humans deemed dangerously volatile because of their initial reaction to the invasion, emotional expression can be grounds for execution. Music, art and books are illegal, but Ellie still keeps a secret library.

When young Ilori commander M0Rr1S finds Ellie's library, he's duty-bound to deliver her for execution. The trouble is, he finds himself drawn to human music and in desperate need of more.

Humanity's fate rests in the hands of an alien Ellie should fear, but M0Rr1S has a potential solution--thousands of miles away. The two embark on a wild and dangerous journey with a bag of books and their favorite albums, all the while creating a story and a song of their own that just might save them both.

What the community thinks

summary of 348 ratings (see reviews)

Content warnings


Expand filter menu View warnings

Moods

adventurous 88%
hopeful 52%
emotional 51%
inspiring 37%
tense 31%
reflective 25%
dark 14%
funny 12%
sad 11%
challenging 10%
mysterious 10%
lighthearted 8%
informative 2%
relaxing 1%

Pace

medium 70%
fast 20%
slow 10%

Plot- or character-driven?

A mix: 46% | Character: 30% | Plot: 23%

Strong character development?

Yes: 81% | It's complicated: 14% | No: 3% | N/A: 1%

Loveable characters?

Yes: 83% | It's complicated: 11% | No: 4%

Diverse cast of characters?

Yes: 100%

Flaws of characters a main focus?

Yes: 62% | It's complicated: 19% | No: 12% | N/A: 5%

Average rating

3.92