An Enchantment of Ravens

Margaret Rogerson

fiction fantasy young adult
adventurous medium-paced

320 pages | first published 2017

An instant New York Times bestseller
An Indie Next Top 10 Pick
A Parents' Choice Silver Honor Winner

"A funny, action-packed, and sweet romance." --School Library Journal (starred review)
"A phenomenal read." --RT Book Reviews

A skilled painter must stand up to the ancient power of the faerie courts--even as she falls in love with a faerie prince--in this gorgeous bestseller that's "an ideal pick for fans of Holly Black, Maggie Stiefvater, and Laini Taylor" (Publishers Weekly, starred review).

Isobel is an artistic prodigy with a dangerous set of clients: the sinister fair folk, immortal creatures who cannot bake bread or put a pen to paper without crumbling to dust. They crave human Craft with a terrible thirst, and Isobel's paintings are highly prized. But when she receives her first royal patron--Rook, the autumn prince--she makes a terrible mistake. She paints mortal sorrow in his eyes--a weakness that could cost him his life.

Furious, Rook spirits her away to his kingdom to stand trial for her crime. But something is seriously wrong in his world, and they are attacked from every side. With Isobel and Rook depending on each other for survival, their alliance blossoms into trust, then love--and that love violates the fair folks' ruthless laws. Now both of their lives are forfeit, unless Isobel can use her skill as an artist to fight the fairy courts. Because secretly, her Craft represents a threat the fair folk have never faced in all the millennia of their unchanging lives: for the first time, her portraits have the power to make them feel.

What the community thinks

summary of 3494 ratings (see reviews)

Content warnings


Expand filter menu View warnings

Moods

adventurous 90%
lighthearted 40%
emotional 27%
funny 23%
mysterious 22%
dark 13%
tense 13%
hopeful 12%
relaxing 8%
inspiring 5%
reflective 4%
challenging 2%
sad 2%

Pace

medium 52%
fast 33%
slow 14%

Plot- or character-driven?

A mix: 49% | Character: 36% | Plot: 11% | N/A: 2%

Strong character development?

Yes: 45% | No: 33% | It's complicated: 19% | N/A: 1%

Loveable characters?

Yes: 76% | It's complicated: 12% | No: 9% | N/A: 1%

Diverse cast of characters?

No: 61% | It's complicated: 19% | Yes: 11% | N/A: 6%

Flaws of characters a main focus?

Yes: 51% | No: 27% | It's complicated: 17% | N/A: 3%

Average rating

3.6