Where Dreams Descend by Janella Angeles

Where Dreams Descend

Kingdom of Cards #1

Janella Angeles

fiction art fantasy young adult adventurous dark mysterious medium-paced

464 pages | first published 2020

Edition information

Description

Vibrant imagery, jaw-dropping set pieces, sizzling romantic tension, and unstoppable heroine Kallia bring this ambitious debut novel to spectacular life. Fans of Caraval and The Night Circus will be delighted - Claire Legrand, New York Times best...
Browse similar books...

Plus

Content Warnings

Submitted by users as part of their reviews

Expand filter menu View summary

See all...

Community Reviews

Summary of 1723 reviews

Moods

mysterious 89%
adventurous 68%
dark 55%
tense 35%
emotional 15%
challenging 6%
funny 5%
inspiring 5%
hopeful 2%
lighthearted 2%
sad 2%
reflective 1%

Pace

medium 61%
slow 28%
fast 9%

Plot- or character-driven?

A mix: 54% | Character: 24% | Plot: 20%

Strong character development?

Yes: 43% | No: 32% | It's complicated: 22% | N/A: 1%

Loveable characters?

Yes: 60% | It's complicated: 22% | No: 15% | N/A: 1%

Diverse cast of characters?

Yes: 57% | No: 24% | It's complicated: 12% | N/A: 5%

Flaws of characters a main focus?

Yes: 59% | No: 21% | It's complicated: 18%

Average rating

3.67

See all reviews...