Where Dreams Descend

Kingdom of Cards #1

Janella Angeles

fiction art fantasy young adult
adventurous dark mysterious medium-paced

464 pages

Vibrant imagery, jaw-dropping set pieces, sizzling romantic tension, and unstoppable heroine Kallia bring this ambitious debut novel to spectacular life. Fans of Caraval and The Night Circus will be delighted - Claire Legrand, New York Times bestselling author of Furyborn

In a city covered in ice and ruin, a group of magicians face off in a daring game of magical feats to find the next headliner of the Conquering Circus, only to find themselves under the threat of an unseen danger striking behind the scenes.

As each act becomes more and more risky and the number of missing magicians piles up, three are forced to reckon with their secrets before the darkness comes for them next.

The Star: Kallia, a powerful showgirl out to prove she's the best no matter the cost

The Master: Jack, the enigmatic keeper of the club, and more than one lie told

The Magician: Demarco, the brooding judge with a dark past he can no longer hide

Where Dreams Descend is the startling and romantic first book in Janella Angeles' debut Kingdom of Cards fantasy duology where magic is both celebrated and feared, and no heart is left unscathed.

A] spellbinding melody of a book, and the true magic is how Angeles puts all the best parts of an enrapturing theatrical performance onto paper and ink. From the gripping twists in the first pages all the way to the final, heartbreaking crescendo, Where Dreams Descend will surge you to your feet in a standing ovation." - Sara Raasch, New York Times bestselling author of the Snow Like Ashes trilogy

What the community thinks

summary of 334 ratings (see reviews)

Content warnings


Expand filter menu View warnings

Moods

mysterious 79%
adventurous 58%
dark 58%
tense 29%
emotional 20%
funny 8%
challenging 6%
inspiring 6%
sad 4%
lighthearted 2%

Pace

medium 60%
slow 30%
fast 9%

Strong character development?

No: 37% | Yes: 33% | It's complicated: 29%

Loveable characters?

Yes: 52% | It's complicated: 28% | No: 19%

Diverse cast of characters?

Yes: 63% | No: 18% | It's complicated: 13% | N/A: 4%

Flaws of characters centre-stage?

Yes: 73% | It's complicated: 13% | No: 13%

Average rating

3.75