Where Dreams Descend by Janella Angeles

Where Dreams Descend

Kingdom of Cards #1

Janella Angeles

464 pages first pub 2020 (editions)

fiction fantasy young adult adventurous dark mysterious medium-paced

Description

Vibrant imagery, jaw-dropping set pieces, sizzling romantic tension, and unstoppable heroine Kallia bring this ambitious debut novel to spectacular life. Fans of Caraval and The Night Circus will be delighted - Claire Legrand, New York Times bests...

Read more

Community Reviews Summary of 2,586 reviews

Moods

mysterious 88%
adventurous 70%
dark 54%
tense 35%
emotional 17%
challenging 8%
funny 6%
hopeful 4%
inspiring 4%
reflective 3%
sad 3%
lighthearted 2%

Pace

medium 60%
slow 29%
fast 10%

Plot- or character-driven?

A mix: 53% | Plot: 24% | Character: 22%

Strong character development?

Yes: 43% | No: 33% | It's complicated: 21% | N/A: 1%

Loveable characters?

Yes: 56% | It's complicated: 24% | No: 18%

Diverse cast of characters?

Yes: 55% | No: 27% | It's complicated: 11% | N/A: 6%

Flaws of characters a main focus?

Yes: 55% | No: 21% | It's complicated: 20% | N/A: 2%

Average rating

3.65

See all reviews...

Content Warnings

Submitted by users as part of their reviews

Expand filter menu View summary

See all...