The Gilded Ones by Namina Forna

The Gilded Ones

Deathless #1

Namina Forna

fiction fantasy young adult adventurous dark emotional medium-paced

416 pages | first published 2021

Edition information

Description

The must-read new bold and immersive West African-inspired fantasy series, as featured on Cosmo, Bustle and Book Riot. In this world, girls are outcasts by blood and warriors by choice, perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone and Black Pant...
Browse similar books...

Plus

Content Warnings

Submitted by users as part of their reviews

Expand filter menu View summary

See all...

Community Reviews

Summary of 5623 reviews

Moods

adventurous 93%
dark 56%
emotional 43%
tense 39%
mysterious 36%
inspiring 30%
challenging 23%
hopeful 22%
reflective 12%
sad 9%
funny 2%
lighthearted 1%

Pace

medium 58%
fast 36%
slow 5%

Plot- or character-driven?

A mix: 62% | Plot: 22% | Character: 14%

Strong character development?

Yes: 86% | It's complicated: 8% | No: 4%

Loveable characters?

Yes: 77% | It's complicated: 15% | No: 6%

Diverse cast of characters?

Yes: 97% | It's complicated: 1% | No: 1%

Flaws of characters a main focus?

Yes: 44% | It's complicated: 28% | No: 25% | N/A: 2%

Average rating

4.01

See all reviews...