The Gilded Ones by Namina Forna

The Gilded Ones

Deathless #1

Namina Forna

411 pages first pub 2021 (editions)

fiction fantasy young adult adventurous dark emotional medium-paced

Description

The must-read new bold and immersive West African-inspired fantasy series, as featured on Cosmo, Bustle, Book Riot and Refinery 29. In this world, girls are outcasts by blood and warriors by choice, perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone a...

Read more

Community Reviews Summary of 12,533 reviews

Moods

adventurous 92%
dark 56%
emotional 46%
tense 40%
mysterious 36%
inspiring 29%
challenging 24%
hopeful 21%
reflective 12%
sad 12%
funny 2%
informative 1%
lighthearted 1%

Pace

medium 59%
fast 35%
slow 5%

Plot- or character-driven?

A mix: 63% | Plot: 22% | Character: 13%

Strong character development?

Yes: 87% | It's complicated: 7% | No: 4%

Loveable characters?

Yes: 80% | It's complicated: 12% | No: 5%

Diverse cast of characters?

Yes: 96% | It's complicated: 1% | No: 1%

Flaws of characters a main focus?

Yes: 43% | It's complicated: 29% | No: 25% | N/A: 2%

Average rating

3.99

See all reviews...

Content Warnings

Submitted by users as part of their reviews

Expand filter menu View summary

See all...