The Gilded Ones by Namina Forna

The Gilded Ones

Deathless #1

Namina Forna

fiction fantasy young adult adventurous challenging emotional medium-paced

416 pages | first published 2021

Description

The must-read new bold and immersive West African-inspired fantasy series, as featured on Cosmo, Bustle and Book Riot. In this world, girls are outcasts by blood and warriors by choice, perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone and Black Pant...
Browse similar books...

Plus

Community Reviews

summary of 963 ratings (see reviews)

Content warnings

Expand filter menu View

Moods

adventurous 92%
dark 58%
emotional 48%
tense 38%
mysterious 32%
inspiring 30%
challenging 28%
hopeful 22%
reflective 13%
sad 10%
funny 2%
informative 1%
lighthearted 1%
relaxing 0%

Pace

medium 59%
fast 36%
slow 4%

Plot- or character-driven?

A mix: 61% | Plot: 23% | Character: 14% | N/A: 0%

Strong character development?

Yes: 85% | It's complicated: 10% | No: 3% | N/A: 0%

Loveable characters?

Yes: 77% | It's complicated: 15% | No: 6% | N/A: 0%

Diverse cast of characters?

Yes: 97% | It's complicated: 1% | N/A: 0% | No: 0%

Flaws of characters a main focus?

Yes: 48% | It's complicated: 24% | No: 24% | N/A: 2%

Average rating

4.06