fiction fantasy lgbtqia+ adventurous emotional mysterious slow-paced

544 pages | first published 2018

Edition information

Description

The Phoenix Empress, the sequel to K Arsenault Rivera's wildly buzzed about The Tiger's Daughter, an epic historical fantasy in the vein of Patrick Rothfuss and Naomi Novik.Since she was a child, the divine empress O Shizuka has believed she was a...
Browse similar books...

Plus

Content Warnings

Submitted by users as part of their reviews

Expand filter menu View summary

See all...

Community Reviews

Summary of 208 reviews

Moods

adventurous 88%
emotional 70%
dark 64%
mysterious 58%
tense 35%
challenging 23%
reflective 23%
sad 11%
hopeful 5%
inspiring 5%

Pace

slow 66%
medium 33%

Plot- or character-driven?

A mix: 76% | Character: 15% | Plot: 7%

Strong character development?

Yes: 68% | It's complicated: 31%

Loveable characters?

Yes: 87% | It's complicated: 12%

Diverse cast of characters?

Yes: 100%

Flaws of characters a main focus?

Yes: 73% | It's complicated: 26%

Average rating

3.74

See all reviews...