The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea by Axie Oh

The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea

Axie Oh

User-added

User-added
fiction fantasy young adult adventurous emotional mysterious medium-paced

321 pages | first published 2022

Edition information

Description

Axie Oh's The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea is an enthralling feminist retelling of the classic Korean folktale “The Tale of Shim Cheong,” perfect for fans of Wintersong, Uprooted, and Miyazaki’s Spirited Away.Deadly storms have ravaged Mina’s hom...
Browse similar books...

Plus

Content Warnings

Submitted by users as part of their reviews

Expand filter menu View summary

See all...

Community Reviews

Summary of 2156 reviews

Moods

adventurous 89%
emotional 57%
hopeful 52%
mysterious 37%
inspiring 33%
lighthearted 29%
reflective 17%
funny 10%
relaxing 9%
sad 8%
challenging 5%
tense 5%
dark 2%
informative 1%

Pace

medium 54%
fast 37%
slow 8%

Plot- or character-driven?

A mix: 59% | Plot: 24% | Character: 15%

Strong character development?

Yes: 71% | No: 16% | It's complicated: 9% | N/A: 2%

Loveable characters?

Yes: 88% | It's complicated: 6% | No: 3%

Diverse cast of characters?

Yes: 70% | It's complicated: 12% | No: 11% | N/A: 6%

Flaws of characters a main focus?

No: 49% | Yes: 27% | It's complicated: 19% | N/A: 3%

Average rating

4.15

See all reviews...