The Echo Wife

Sarah Gailey

fiction science fiction thriller
dark mysterious tense medium-paced

347 pages | first published 2021

The Echo Wife is a non-stop thrill ride, perfect for readers of Big Little Lies and enthusiasts of Killing Eve and Westworld­

Martine is a genetically cloned replica made from Evelyn Caldwell’s award-winning research. She’s patient and gentle and obedient. She’s everything Evelyn swore she’d never be.

And she’s having an affair with Evelyn’s husband.

Now, the cheating bastard is dead, and the Caldwell wives have a mess to clean up.
Good thing Evelyn Caldwell is used to getting her hands dirty

When they said all happy families are alike, this can’t be what they meant...

What the community thinks

summary of 160 ratings (see reviews)

Content warnings


Expand filter menu View warnings

Moods

dark 88%
tense 69%
mysterious 61%
challenging 42%
reflective 32%
emotional 30%
sad 13%
informative 9%
adventurous 6%
funny 1%
hopeful 1%

Pace

medium 52%
fast 26%
slow 21%

Plot- or character-driven?

Character: 60% | A mix: 32% | Plot: 7%

Strong character development?

Yes: 62% | It's complicated: 30% | No: 7%

Loveable characters?

It's complicated: 53% | No: 43% | Yes: 2%

Diverse cast of characters?

No: 78% | It's complicated: 15% | Yes: 5% | N/A: 1%

Flaws of characters a main focus?

Yes: 95% | It's complicated: 4%

Average rating

4.06