Hum If You Don't Know the Words by Bianca Marais

Hum If You Don't Know the Words

Bianca Marais

fiction historical dark emotional reflective medium-paced

432 pages | first published 2017

Description

Perfect for readers of The Secret Life of Bees and The Help, a perceptive and searing look at Apartheid-era South Africa, told through one unique family brought together by tragedy.Life under Apartheid has created a secure future for Robin Conrad,...
Browse similar books...

Plus

Content Warnings

Submitted by users as part of their reviews

Expand filter menu View summary

See all...

Community Reviews

summary of 341 ratings (see reviews)

Moods

emotional 73%
hopeful 60%
reflective 60%
sad 53%
inspiring 33%
adventurous 26%
informative 26%
tense 26%
challenging 20%
dark 20%
funny 6%
mysterious 6%

Pace

medium 80%
fast 13%
slow 6%

Plot- or character-driven?

A mix: 50% | Character: 33% | Plot: 16%

Strong character development?

Yes: 86% | It's complicated: 6% | No: 6%

Loveable characters?

Yes: 73% | It's complicated: 20% | No: 6%

Diverse cast of characters?

Yes: 100%

Flaws of characters a main focus?

Yes: 85% | It's complicated: 14%

Average rating

4.24