The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton

The Miniaturist

The Miniaturist #1

Jessie Burton

fiction historical mystery emotional mysterious slow-paced

400 pages | first published 2014

Edition information

Description

Set in seventeenth century Amsterdam—a city ruled by glittering wealth and oppressive religion—a masterful debut steeped in atmosphere and shimmering with mystery, in the tradition of Emma Donoghue, Sarah Waters, and Sarah Dunant. ”There is not...
Browse similar books...

Plus

Content Warnings

Submitted by users as part of their reviews

Expand filter menu View summary

See all...

Community Reviews

Summary of 7850 reviews

Moods

mysterious 86%
emotional 57%
dark 49%
sad 41%
tense 33%
reflective 19%
adventurous 13%
challenging 11%
hopeful 6%
informative 4%
inspiring 3%

Pace

medium 53%
slow 38%
fast 8%

Plot- or character-driven?

A mix: 48% | Character: 35% | Plot: 15%

Strong character development?

Yes: 73% | It's complicated: 14% | No: 12%

Loveable characters?

Yes: 46% | It's complicated: 33% | No: 20%

Diverse cast of characters?

Yes: 66% | No: 19% | It's complicated: 12% | N/A: 1%

Flaws of characters a main focus?

Yes: 61% | No: 19% | It's complicated: 16% | N/A: 2%

Average rating

3.53

See all reviews...