Lakesedge by Lyndall Clipstone

376 pages first pub 2021 (editions)

fiction fantasy young adult dark mysterious slow-paced

Description

A lush, gothic fantasy from debut author Lyndall Clipstone about monsters and magic, set on the banks of a cursed lake, perfect for fans of Naomi Novik and Brigid Kemmerer. When Violeta Graceling and her younger brother Arien arrive at the haun...

Read more

Community Reviews Summary of 1,777 reviews

Moods

dark 90%
mysterious 75%
emotional 41%
adventurous 37%
tense 37%
sad 18%
challenging 7%
funny 3%
hopeful 3%
reflective 3%
inspiring 1%
lighthearted 1%

Pace

medium 54%
slow 23%
fast 21%

Plot- or character-driven?

A mix: 52% | Plot: 28% | Character: 17% | N/A: 1%

Strong character development?

Yes: 46% | No: 31% | It's complicated: 21% | N/A: 1%

Loveable characters?

Yes: 50% | It's complicated: 26% | No: 23%

Diverse cast of characters?

No: 58% | Yes: 23% | It's complicated: 14% | N/A: 3%

Flaws of characters a main focus?

Yes: 64% | It's complicated: 18% | No: 15% | N/A: 1%

Average rating

3.43

See all reviews...

Content Warnings

Submitted by users as part of their reviews

Expand filter menu View summary

See all...