fiction fantasy young adult dark mysterious slow-paced

384 pages | first published 2021

Description

A lush, gothic fantasy from debut author Lyndall Clipstone about monsters and magic, set on the banks of a cursed lake, perfect for fans of Naomi Novik and Brigid Kemmerer. When Violeta Graceling and her younger brother Arien arrive at the haun...
Browse similar books...

Plus

Content Warnings

Submitted by users as part of their reviews

Expand filter menu View summary

See all...

Community Reviews

summary of 107 ratings (see reviews)

Moods

dark 95%
mysterious 73%
tense 39%
emotional 36%
adventurous 31%
sad 9%
challenging 6%
funny 1%
hopeful 1%
reflective 1%

Pace

medium 53%
slow 25%
fast 21%

Plot- or character-driven?

A mix: 52% | Plot: 39% | Character: 5% | N/A: 1%

Strong character development?

Yes: 54% | It's complicated: 23% | No: 21%

Loveable characters?

Yes: 56% | It's complicated: 28% | No: 15%

Diverse cast of characters?

No: 43% | Yes: 39% | It's complicated: 16%

Flaws of characters a main focus?

Yes: 74% | No: 12% | It's complicated: 10% | N/A: 2%

Average rating

3.73