fiction fantasy young adult dark mysterious slow-paced

376 pages | first published 2021

Edition information

Description

A lush, gothic fantasy from debut author Lyndall Clipstone about monsters and magic, set on the banks of a cursed lake, perfect for fans of Naomi Novik and Brigid Kemmerer. When Violeta Graceling and her younger brother Arien arrive at the haun...
Browse similar books...

Plus

Book information

Content Warnings

Submitted by users as part of their reviews

Expand filter menu View summary

See all...

Community Reviews

Summary of 809 reviews

Moods

dark 91%
mysterious 75%
emotional 38%
adventurous 35%
tense 35%
sad 16%
challenging 7%
reflective 4%
funny 2%
hopeful 2%
lighthearted 1%

Pace

medium 55%
slow 23%
fast 20%

Plot- or character-driven?

A mix: 51% | Plot: 29% | Character: 18%

Strong character development?

Yes: 46% | No: 29% | It's complicated: 23% | N/A: 1%

Loveable characters?

Yes: 47% | It's complicated: 29% | No: 21%

Diverse cast of characters?

No: 54% | Yes: 25% | It's complicated: 16% | N/A: 3%

Flaws of characters a main focus?

Yes: 65% | It's complicated: 19% | No: 13% | N/A: 2%

Average rating

3.44

See all reviews...