Hazel Bly and the Deep Blue Sea by Ashley Herring Blake

Hazel Bly and the Deep Blue Sea

Ashley Herring Blake

fiction contemporary lgbtqia+ middle grade emotional hopeful sad medium-paced

352 pages | first published 2021

Edition information

Description

For fans of Erin Entrada Kelly and Ali Benjamin comes a poignant yet hopeful novel about a girl navigating grief, trauma, and friendship, from Ashley Herring Blake, the award-winning author of Ivy Aberdeen's Letter to the World. Hazel Bly used ...
Browse similar books...

Plus

Book information

Content Warnings

Submitted by users as part of their reviews

Expand filter menu View summary

See all...

Community Reviews

Summary of 143 reviews

Moods

emotional 97%
sad 80%
hopeful 78%
reflective 38%
inspiring 25%
adventurous 21%
challenging 17%
mysterious 14%
tense 10%
dark 8%
lighthearted 8%
funny 4%
informative 2%

Pace

medium 70%
fast 25%
slow 4%

Plot- or character-driven?

Character: 93% | A mix: 4% | Plot: 2%

Strong character development?

Yes: 97% | It's complicated: 2%

Loveable characters?

Yes: 86% | It's complicated: 13%

Diverse cast of characters?

Yes: 88% | It's complicated: 11%

Flaws of characters a main focus?

Yes: 80% | It's complicated: 19%

Average rating

4.49

See all reviews...