The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton

The Miniaturist

The Miniaturist #1

Jessie Burton

fiction historical mystery emotional mysterious slow-paced

433 pages | first published 2014

Edition information

Description

Set in seventeenth-century Amsterdam - a city ruled by glittering wealth and oppressive religion - a masterful debut steeped in atmosphere and shimmering with mystery, in the tradition of Emma Donoghue, Sarah Waters, and Sarah Dunant."There is not...
Browse similar books...

Plus

Book information

Content Warnings

Submitted by users as part of their reviews

Expand filter menu View summary

See all...

Community Reviews

Summary of 8323 reviews

Moods

mysterious 84%
emotional 56%
dark 47%
sad 41%
tense 33%
reflective 18%
adventurous 12%
challenging 11%
hopeful 6%
informative 4%
inspiring 2%

Pace

medium 52%
slow 38%
fast 8%

Plot- or character-driven?

A mix: 48% | Character: 34% | Plot: 16%

Strong character development?

Yes: 71% | It's complicated: 15% | No: 12%

Loveable characters?

Yes: 47% | It's complicated: 31% | No: 20%

Diverse cast of characters?

Yes: 66% | No: 19% | It's complicated: 12% | N/A: 1%

Flaws of characters a main focus?

Yes: 62% | No: 20% | It's complicated: 15% | N/A: 2%

Average rating

3.53

See all reviews...