The Wolf and the Woodsman by Ava Reid

The Wolf and the Woodsman

Ava Reid

fiction fantasy historical adventurous dark emotional medium-paced

418 pages | first published 2021

Edition information

Description

A dark, evocative and unforgettable fantasy debut steeped in Hungarian history and Jewish mythology, perfect for fans of Naomi Novik and Katherine Arden. Stories don't have to be true to be real... In her forest-veiled pagan village, Évike i...
Browse similar books...

Plus

Content Warnings

Submitted by users as part of their reviews

Expand filter menu View summary

See all...

Community Reviews

Summary of 2210 reviews

Moods

adventurous 88%
dark 77%
tense 43%
emotional 39%
mysterious 23%
challenging 16%
reflective 14%
hopeful 10%
sad 10%
inspiring 6%
informative 3%
funny 2%

Pace

medium 62%
slow 26%
fast 10%

Plot- or character-driven?

A mix: 62% | Plot: 20% | Character: 16%

Strong character development?

Yes: 73% | It's complicated: 15% | No: 10%

Loveable characters?

Yes: 48% | It's complicated: 31% | No: 19%

Diverse cast of characters?

Yes: 60% | No: 20% | It's complicated: 15% | N/A: 3%

Flaws of characters a main focus?

Yes: 72% | It's complicated: 16% | No: 9%

Average rating

3.76

See all reviews...