Witches of Ash and Ruin

E. Latimer

fiction fantasy lgbtqia+ young adult
adventurous mysterious slow-paced

384 pages | first published 2020

Modern witchcraft blends with ancient Celtic mythology in an epic clash of witches and gods, perfect for fans of V.E. Schwab's Shades of Magic trilogy and A DISCOVERY OF WITCHES.

Seventeen-year-old Dayna Walsh is struggling to cope with her somatic OCD; the aftermath of being outed as bisexual in her conservative Irish town; and the return of her long-absent mother, who barely seems like a parent. But all that really matters to her is ascending and finally, finally becoming a full witch-plans that are complicated when another coven, rumored to have a sordid history with black magic, arrives in town with premonitions of death. Dayna immediately finds herself at odds with the bewitchingly frustrating Meiner King, the granddaughter of their coven leader.

And then a witch turns up murdered at a local sacred site, along with the blood symbol of the Butcher of Manchester-an infamous serial killer whose trail has long gone cold. The killer's motives are enmeshed in a complex web of witches and gods, and Dayna and Meiner soon find themselves at the center of it all. If they don't stop the Butcher, one of them will be next.

With razor-sharp prose and achingly real characters, E. Latimer crafts a sweeping, mesmerizing story of dark magic and brutal mythology set against a backdrop of contemporary Ireland that's impossible to put down.

What the community thinks

summary of 154 ratings (see reviews)

Content warnings


Expand filter menu View warnings

Moods

dark 85%
mysterious 85%
adventurous 52%
tense 52%
emotional 38%
challenging 9%
funny 9%
inspiring 4%
sad 4%

Pace

medium 60%
slow 35%
fast 5%

Plot- or character-driven?

A mix: 57% | Plot: 28% | Character: 14%

Strong character development?

No: 50% | Yes: 33% | It's complicated: 16%

Loveable characters?

No: 50% | Yes: 27% | It's complicated: 22%

Diverse cast of characters?

Yes: 89% | No: 10%

Flaws of characters a main focus?

Yes: 82% | It's complicated: 11% | No: 5%

Average rating

3.58