The Wolf and the Woodsman by Ava Reid

The Wolf and the Woodsman

Ava Reid

448 pages first pub 2021 (editions)

fiction fantasy historical adventurous dark tense medium-paced

Description

A dark, evocative and unforgettable fantasy debut steeped in Hungarian history and Jewish mythology, perfect for fans of Naomi Novik and Katherine Arden. Stories don't have to be true to be real... In her forest-veiled pagan village, Évike i...

Read more

Community Reviews Summary of 7,532 reviews

Moods

adventurous 87%
dark 78%
tense 46%
emotional 36%
mysterious 24%
challenging 17%
reflective 14%
hopeful 9%
sad 9%
inspiring 5%
informative 3%
funny 2%

Pace

medium 63%
slow 25%
fast 11%

Plot- or character-driven?

A mix: 63% | Plot: 20% | Character: 15%

Strong character development?

Yes: 75% | It's complicated: 13% | No: 10%

Loveable characters?

Yes: 51% | It's complicated: 30% | No: 18%

Diverse cast of characters?

Yes: 62% | No: 18% | It's complicated: 15% | N/A: 3%

Flaws of characters a main focus?

Yes: 73% | It's complicated: 15% | No: 10%

Average rating

3.66

See all reviews...

Content Warnings

Submitted by users as part of their reviews

Expand filter menu View summary

See all...