The Luminous Dead by Caitlin Starling

The Luminous Dead

Caitlin Starling with Adenrele Ojo (Narrator)

fiction horror lgbtqia+ science fiction dark mysterious tense slow-paced

14 hours, 9 minutes | first published 2019

Edition information

Description

This claustrophobic, horror-leaning tour de force is highly recommended for fans of Jeff VanderMeer's Annihilation and Andy Weir's The Martian. -- Publishers Weekly (starred review)***A thrilling, atmospheric debut with the intensive drive of The ...
Browse similar books...

Plus

Book information

Content Warnings

Submitted by users as part of their reviews

Expand filter menu View summary

See all...

Community Reviews

Summary of 2806 reviews

Moods

dark 87%
tense 86%
mysterious 67%
adventurous 60%
emotional 44%
challenging 24%
sad 12%
reflective 4%
hopeful 2%

Pace

medium 44%
slow 39%
fast 15%

Plot- or character-driven?

Character: 56% | A mix: 36% | Plot: 6%

Strong character development?

Yes: 63% | It's complicated: 28% | No: 8%

Loveable characters?

It's complicated: 51% | Yes: 27% | No: 20%

Diverse cast of characters?

Yes: 64% | No: 16% | It's complicated: 14% | N/A: 4%

Flaws of characters a main focus?

Yes: 90% | It's complicated: 7% | No: 1%

Average rating

3.83

See all reviews...