Maria, Maria: And Other Stories by Marytza K. Rubio

Maria, Maria: And Other Stories

Marytza K. Rubio

fiction short stories adventurous dark mysterious medium-paced

224 pages | first published 2022

Edition information

Description

For fans of Kali Fajardo-Anstine and Lesley Nneka Arimah, a darkly funny and imaginative debut conjuring tales of Mexican American mystics and misfits. "The first witch of the waters was born in Destruction. The moon named her Maria." From former ...
Browse similar books...

Plus

Book information

Content Warnings

Submitted by users as part of their reviews

Expand filter menu View summary

See all...

Community Reviews

Summary of 61 reviews

Moods

mysterious 74%
adventurous 65%
dark 65%
reflective 37%
emotional 28%
funny 20%
challenging 17%
hopeful 11%
inspiring 5%
sad 5%
lighthearted 2%
tense 2%

Pace

medium 68%
fast 28%
slow 3%

Plot- or character-driven?

A mix: 66% | Character: 16% | N/A: 11% | Plot: 5%

Strong character development?

It's complicated: 33% | N/A: 22% | No: 22% | Yes: 22%

Loveable characters?

Yes: 44% | It's complicated: 33% | No: 16% | N/A: 5%

Diverse cast of characters?

Yes: 94% | N/A: 5%

Flaws of characters a main focus?

Yes: 50% | It's complicated: 27% | N/A: 11% | No: 11%

Average rating

4.04

See all reviews...