The Luminous Dead by Caitlin Starling

The Luminous Dead

Caitlin Starling

414 pages first pub 2019 (editions)

fiction horror lgbtqia+ science fiction dark mysterious tense slow-paced
Powered by AI (Beta)
Loading...

Description

Bram Stoker Award nominee for Best First Novel This claustrophobic, horror-leaning tour de force is highly recommended for fans of Jeff VanderMeer's Annihilation and Andy Weir's The Martian. -- Publishers Weekly (starred review)A thrilling, atmosp...

Read more

Community Reviews Summary of 5,016 reviews

Moods

dark 86%
tense 85%
mysterious 65%
adventurous 62%
emotional 42%
challenging 24%
sad 13%
reflective 5%
hopeful 3%

Pace

medium 44%
slow 40%
fast 14%

Plot- or character-driven?

Character: 55% | A mix: 36% | Plot: 8%

Strong character development?

Yes: 59% | It's complicated: 28% | No: 11%

Loveable characters?

It's complicated: 48% | No: 25% | Yes: 25%

Diverse cast of characters?

Yes: 61% | No: 22% | It's complicated: 12% | N/A: 3%

Flaws of characters a main focus?

Yes: 87% | It's complicated: 9% | No: 2%

Average rating

3.77

See all reviews...

Content Warnings

Submitted by users as part of their reviews

Expand filter menu View summary

See all...