A review by frostbitsky
Seeker, by Arwen Elys Dayton

3.0

I picked up an ARC of Seeker from NYCC. It was an enjoyable read. The world building was well done. It is very much secluded to their world though. I often wondered if the consequences of the Seekers' actions in the world would come back and have a bigger impact on the whole of the story. It was briefly mentioned in passing, but this is the first book of a series and so it is possible that we'll see the repercussions of that night on global scale.

The start to developing the characters was good. They have a mix of strength, determination and flaws. You certainly understand their motivations. I liked that it was told from different point of views. I must say though that that love triangle was weak, especially on Quin's part. Some of her feelings came on too suddenly.
Maud was my favorite character. I found her and her history to be the most interesting of all.

It is described as "For readers of A Game of Thrones and The Hunger Games comes an epic new series." It is a very tame GoT (the PG-13 version).

The action was good, however, some parts lacked suspense. I put the book down for a week around the beginning of part three. Also, and maybe it's not fair to judge too harshly since it is an ARC, but it did get repetitive about the time jump. It got to a point where I would think to myself how many times in a chapter will we be reminded that some time has past? I lost count.

Although I lost some motivation to continue reading, I did finish and it has interested me enough to see what the next book brings to the story.

3 out 5 athames