storiesforcoffee's reviews
746 reviews

Cemetery Boys, by Aiden Thomas

Go to review page

adventurous lighthearted mysterious medium-paced
  • Plot- or character-driven? A mix
  • Strong character development? Yes
  • Loveable characters? Yes
  • Diverse cast of characters? Yes
  • Flaws of characters a main focus? Yes

3.0

Desperate Measures, by Katee Robert

Go to review page

fast-paced
  • Plot- or character-driven? Plot
  • Strong character development? It's complicated
  • Loveable characters? No
  • Diverse cast of characters? Yes

3.0

The Need, by Helen Phillips

Go to review page

dark mysterious tense medium-paced
  • Plot- or character-driven? Character
  • Strong character development? It's complicated
  • Loveable characters? It's complicated
  • Diverse cast of characters? No
  • Flaws of characters a main focus? Yes

4.5

This is exactly why I have to stop letting Goodreads ratings dictate which books I should give a shot because WOW was this such a fantastic and all-consuming read. 

The Need is like a Twilight Zone episode in book form as it follows the perspective of an exhausted and overworked mother who begins to hear noises in her house and comes face-to-face with an intruder who knows more about her life than she realized, but it's so much more than that initial encounter. This novel explores the aftermath of that moment, how our protagonist's life is upended and altered in a way that makes her look at her world in an entirely new light.

The Need has one of the most unique premises that I've ever read about, and I think that's what causes so many people to give it a low rating. It's ambiguous and horrifying in a subtle, psychological way and is so much more than what the synopsis states because giving away any other information would spoil the plot for readers. I wouldn't call this a thriller but a quiet drama that brews beneath the surface, thrusting you into this world that has more questions than answers. 

<b>If you love the film adaptation of Annihilation, The Twilight Zone, or Jordan Peele's subtle, psychological horror that isn't in your face but rather an idea that creeps into the crevices of your mind to haunt you for days, then you have to pick up this novel.</b>
The Inheritance of Orquídea Divina, by Zoraida Córdova

Go to review page

dark mysterious medium-paced
  • Plot- or character-driven? Character
  • Strong character development? It's complicated
  • Loveable characters? It's complicated
  • Diverse cast of characters? Yes
  • Flaws of characters a main focus? It's complicated

4.5

The Inheritance of Orquidea Divina is a fantastical, immersive experience that will transport you into a family wrapped in magic and mystery. This story unfolded so beautifully, exploring generational trauma, the power one has within oneself, and reconnecting with your ancestors. 

Perfect for fans of Like Water For Chocolate's magical realism, readers will lose themselves in the haunting mystery that has traveled down this family's bloodline which was written in a lyrical and lush writing style. I cannot recommend enough.
Writers & Lovers, by Lily King

Go to review page

reflective relaxing medium-paced
  • Plot- or character-driven? Character
  • Strong character development? Yes
  • Loveable characters? It's complicated
  • Diverse cast of characters? No
  • Flaws of characters a main focus? Yes

4.5

Writers and Lovers is a melancholic, slow-moving look at a transitional moment in a woman’s life as she grieves the loss of her mother, navigates newfound relationships, and pursues a creative career as a writer. 

I love these types of novels because it reminds you that even protagonists don’t have it all together. The problems Casey wrestles with is raw and real. Her internal monologue was effortless to follow along with, and the story itself felt like a warm hug on an autumn day. 

This is sure to be a story that will stick with me and remind me of the beauty of creativity and literature.

(Read this because of TikTok lol)
The Lake of Dead Languages, by Carol Goodman

Go to review page

dark mysterious medium-paced
  • Plot- or character-driven? Character
  • Strong character development? No
  • Loveable characters? No
  • Diverse cast of characters? No
  • Flaws of characters a main focus? Yes

4.0

For fans of dark academia, gothic tales. The Lake of Dead Languages spends takes its time exploring all-consuming, toxic friendships, a love for Latin and classic literature, the breathlessness of first love, the darkness of one’s past and how it may come to haunt you, and how one’s world can come crashing down when you place your universe into another’s hands.
Summer, by Ali Smith

Go to review page

Did not finish book. Stopped at 48%.
Too dry and scattered for me to enjoy it