Reviews

The Arrangement by Miranda Rijks

judithdcollins's review

Go to review page

4.0

THE ARRANGEMENT is a sugar baby-sugar-daddy tale that turns toxic and deadly in this provocative thriller of sex, obsession, and murder from the queen of psychological thrillers with a twist—author Miranda Rijks.

In this thrills-a-minute riveting suspense, a determined mother (heroine) will stop at NOTHING to attain justice for her daughter.

Emotionally powerful and packed with page-turning suspense, THE ARRANGEMENT delves into the sordid, all-too-real world of shadowy relationships between wealthy, powerful men and the young women caught in their web.

Set in England, we meet Grace Woods, a single mom, hairdresser, and recovering alcoholic. She has two girls, Abi, 21, who has just finished her second year at university, and Ella, the younger 17-year-old, living at home. Grace is divorced from Bob, who has remarried with a son.

The stress and grief caused Grace to fall into drinking. She hated herself while drinking but had to dull the pain. Grace had a traumatic experience when she was younger, raped by a real estate agent after her parents died. She never reported it and continued bearing her anxieties in alcohol which caused her divorce ten years earlier.

Up until now, she had been sober. But now, she was sliding again, drinking during the day on the job, and smoking.

Then they said they had the person who committed the crime, some random drug dealer who killed her for money, and wanted to close the case, but Grace knew there was something else they were missing.

It appears Abi was a sugar baby and had several sugar daddies to help with her student debt and her lifestyle. Grace is tenacious and meets with these men, some nice and some not. Some just wanted companionship and, in return, offered money, clothes, travel, etc. Which one was the daddy of the baby, and which one killed her? Each time she gets closer, there is more danger.

Her daughter has been living a double life. However, there is something much more sinister, and it may be closer than you know. How well do you know those close to you?

A twisty plot that builds slowly and masterfully escalates to a chilling end! A nightmarish deep dive into the underbelly of a secret world and an insider's look into the world of sugar daddies. They can be married, fathers, or living right before you.

Rijks strength is her interesting and complex female characters. You will root for Grace from beginning to end as the mom who would not give up no matter how hard she was kicked down by peers, friends, and family.

A fascinating, dark, twisted, and gritty tale that was such an irresistible, entertaining, and fun book to listen to. I was immediately pulled into the story, intrigued by the premise, and fully absorbed in the suspense. The narrator, Jilly Bond did an outstanding job with all voices with high tension and emotion.

A fast-paced, addictive tale of the thin line between love and obsession and how easy it is to put aside all logical thought for the sake of sex, love, and money. A cross between Pretty Woman and Fatal Attraction. For fans of Michele Campbell and Robyn Harding's[b:The Arrangement|42201920|The Arrangement|Robyn Harding|https://i.gr-assets.com/images/S/compressed.photo.goodreads.com/books/1549340938l/42201920._SY75_.jpg|65814422].

I enjoy this author's style and highly recommend her thrillers! Thank you to #DreamscapeMedia

inscribedinklings's review against another edition

Go to review page

3.0

Thank you @NetGalley, @Miranda Rijks and @InkubatorBooks for an ARC copy in exchange for an honest review! ⁣

Grace is living her worst nightmare, her daughter, Abi went for a trip to Cape Town and she is now dead. Grace is a divorced recovering alcoholic. She lives with her daughter Ella. He ex-husband Bob lives with his new family.

Grace can't cope with the loss and she is on the edge of a complete breakdown. She is battling with her need for alcohol and the needs of her surviving daughter. She starts investigating the death of Abi and she uncovers the double life she was living.

She cleans out Abi's room and she finds designer clothes and expensive things. How did Abi afford all this? When she opens Abi's laptop, she finds out that Abi was a sugar baby in a website. Grace is now convinced that her daughter died because of this.

The more closer she gets to the truth, more dangerous her life becomes. Will she get to to the truth or will she perish before that? Read to find out.

I found a the book a bit too long. If the story was more concised, it would have been much better. The chapters were alternating between Grace and Abi's blog which I loved. But the some of narration was too disorganised and unnecessary. The ending was mostly predictable for me except for a few parts. But it was overall a good thriler. Defenitely worth the time.

-Afreen

pbailey14's review

Go to review page

5.0

The arrangement

Great book, interesting twists, better than you’re thinking! Love this authors work and looking forward to reading more. The Arrangement is well worth your time.

cmlundy's review

Go to review page

4.0

This book was so good and had everything I was looking for in a thriller. I’ve been in a major book rut and this one brought me out of it. While completely unrealistic, I’m definitely not looking for realism when reading thrillers. Would for sure recommend!

melissadelongcox's review against another edition

Go to review page

2.0

*Thanks to Inkubator Books + NetGalley for the ARC!*

Trigger warning for alcohol abuse/alcoholism.

Likes: the premise (how well do you know your daughter - or anyone else - really?), sugar baby/daddy relationships (lots of young women are doing this in 2020), lots of characters with history.

Dislikes: Characters were pretty flat overall, and even though there were literally DECADES of history, their interactions still felt superficial. I also disliked some of the opinions towards Abi after her use of the sugar baby website comes out - again, lots of young women are doing these things and it just felt like a needless addition to the story to make comments about her.

heatheradoresbooks's review

Go to review page

4.0

4.25 ⭐

Featuring ~ dual 1st & 3rd person POV, death of a child

This is one of those books that makes me want to keep my daughter in my sights forever! Can I home-school for college??
A parent's worse nightmare is when their child dies before them, but when the child is murdered it's just all that much more difficult to grasp. The murder is solved pretty quickly, but Grace is not buying it and starts looking into Abi's death herself. She uncovers some things that I bet Abi never wanted her mother to find out about.

This was grief driven, very fast paced and a quick psychological read. I've read plots similar, but I did not see the ending coming at all.

Jilly Bond did an okay job narrating for 8 hours, easy to follow at 2x. I wasn't in love with her male voices, but she sounded like a frantic mother at all the right times. If I could go back I probably would have rather read it.

This is my 4th book by Miranda and my favorite so far. Looking forward to the next one.

*Thanks to Dreamscape Media, [a:Miranda Rijks|4218817|Miranda Rijks|https://images.gr-assets.com/authors/1520208842p2/4218817.jpg] and NetGalley for the advance audiobook. I am voluntarily leaving my honest review*

Follow me here ➡ Blog ~ Facebook

megmc77's review

Go to review page

4.0

I like the suspense of the plot in the book. I never got a connection with the main character as I normally would when reading a thriller. I actually disliked the character and the way she portrayed. The ending was much more insightful and I did not expect the outcome to be as it was.

adenise47's review against another edition

Go to review page

5.0

This book was a super quick read. I could not put it down!! It has so many twists and turns that I didn’t expect! This is a must read!!!!

bookwormunicorn's review against another edition

Go to review page

emotional mysterious fast-paced
  • Plot- or character-driven? A mix
  • Strong character development? Yes
  • Loveable characters? No
  • Diverse cast of characters? No
  • Flaws of characters a main focus? Yes

3.5

whatkelreads's review

Go to review page

4.0

•𝕋𝕙𝕖 𝔸𝕣𝕣𝕒𝕟𝕘𝕖𝕞𝕖𝕟𝕥
•𝕄𝕚𝕣𝕒𝕟𝕕𝕒 ℝ𝕚𝕛𝕜𝕤

Another cracker from @mirandarijksauthor 

Abi is murdered whilst apparently on a holiday with her friends. Her Mum, Grace, soon finds out there was a lot she didn't know about her daughter.

Trying to find the person responsible for Abi's death leads Grace to uncovering secrets about her daughter but it becomes apparent someone wants her to stop digging & they will go to any length to stop her!

Another fabulous thriller, you just can't go wrong with Miranda!

#books #bookstagram #kindleunlimited