Reviews

Long shadows, by Derek Thompson

jodyw17's review

Go to review page

4.0

I had the opportunity from NetGalley to read Long Shadows by Derek Thompson
A brand new detective series in the vein of Peter Robinson’s DCI Banks, I thoroughly enjoyed this book from start to finish.
Opening on the central character of Craig Wild, it’s hard not to take to him straight away and want to find out more about what forced him to move to a quiet village after being in London.
Luckily we get to find out little bits about the detective as the story progresses, but happily it doesn’t distract from the main narrative. The story does take us back to partly explain events in London but not to a deep level. This might be further explored in further books, as it’s left with a bit of an open storyline.
I enjoyed the historical theme running through, as the author delves into the villagers past secrets.
We get to see tiny side stories exploring a couple of the other characters and again I would be very interested in where these characters are taken and explore the relationship their building with Craig Wild.
Overall I give this book 4.5 stars.
At no point did I put it down because I was bored of the story, and once I’d reached the halfway point I really wanted to find out what actually happened.

nietzschesghost's review

Go to review page

4.0

Long Shadows is the first instalment in the Detective Craig Wild series by bestselling author, Derek Thompson, which gets everything off to a thoroughly engrossing take off. DS Wild is just beginning to adjust to a hugely different pace of life as a police officer based in the often idyllic and peaceful countryside of Mayberry, Wiltshire, having not long transferred from the Met where he was used to the crime and chaos associated with a crowded city overrun with people from all walks of life, when he is called in to investigate the suspicious apparent suicide of local farmer and pensioner, Alexander Porter. His new colleagues believe it to be an open and shut case but almost instantly Craig finds inconsistencies and it appears the case is heading more and more in the direction of foul play being involved. With Police Constable Marnie Olsen by his side, he starts to unravel a tonne more than anyone had bargained for including the far-reaching consequences of drastic family decisions made decades earlier and a web of deceit and favouritism.

This is an excellent series opener and not only has a compelling mystery but adeptly develops everything ready for the second instalment too. Set in a close-knit and stunning part of the country Craig Wild hopes to heal after an incident when he was previously stationed in London but like any outsider moving into a small town, inhabitants are wary and standoffish but surely they'll warm to him in time. The cast is engaging with Craig, of course, being front and centre and as with any new crime protagonist, I will certainly look forward to seeing his personality and relationships build and evolve as both his colleagues and fellow Mayberry natives, as well as myself, learn more about him as a person and a member of law enforcement. It has some surprising sarcastic humour interspersed throughout and some exciting, twisty developments. This is a promising, tense and compulsively readable police procedural and I look forward to more. Many thanks to Joffe Books for an ARC.
More...